Link 2 faders

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
DukePack
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 5:13 pm

Link 2 faders

Post by DukePack » Sun May 03, 2015 6:20 pm

Hi, simple question:
Imagine I want 2 track faders to have the same value.
I know I can multiselect track and then moving a fader is making move the others by the same value.
I know I can group 2 tracks, and manipulate 1 group fader.
I want to link them constantly without grouping them, so that they always have the same value.

Can it be done?
Will Max for live save my life again?

Duke P

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Link 2 faders

Post by timothyallan » Sun May 03, 2015 6:37 pm

nope, you can't gang them together. Max could do it I'd imagine.

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Link 2 faders

Post by Stromkraft » Sun May 03, 2015 7:30 pm

DukePack wrote:Hi, simple question:
Imagine I want 2 track faders to have the same value.
I know I can multiselect track and then moving a fader is making move the others by the same value.
I know I can group 2 tracks, and manipulate 1 group fader.
I want to link them constantly without grouping them, so that they always have the same value.

Can it be done?
Will Max for live save my life again?
I'm not sure how easily this can be done, if at all, but should investigate Clyphx and see whether it can be useful for this task.
Make some music!

S4racen
Posts: 5269
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Link 2 faders

Post by S4racen » Sun May 03, 2015 7:55 pm

Set live.observer to follow the master, deferlow it's output and send this to a live.object focused on the slave fader...

It's probably the simplest of all Max devices... Have a look at Ableton Live Expert and Lee Huddleston's videos whig cover how to build this...

Cheers
D

DukePack
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 5:13 pm

Re: Link 2 faders

Post by DukePack » Sun May 03, 2015 8:00 pm

https://docs.cycling74.com/max5/refpage ... model.html

live_set.song.track.mixerDevice.volume

I think this can be done.

Post Reply