So, who's ready for Windows 10?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
tedlogan
Posts: 1343
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
Contact:

Re: So, who's ready for Windows 10?

Post by tedlogan » Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:08 am

Has anyone tried using an Edirol UA-25 and a Pod HD with Windows 10? I don't see drivers for the former yet.

crumhorn
Posts: 2503
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:04 pm

Re: So, who's ready for Windows 10?

Post by crumhorn » Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:03 am

I think my ancient PreSonus Firepod is going to be a problem.

oh well.
"The banjo is the perfect instrument for the antisocial."

(Allow me to plug my guitar scale visualiser thingy - www.fretlearner.com)

yur2die4
Posts: 6408
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: So, who's ready for Windows 10?

Post by yur2die4 » Mon Aug 03, 2015 2:41 pm

Yeah, my Firepod stopped working in 8. They stopped support at 7.

I've heard of some people tricking it into running in 8, but I have had no success.

ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: So, who's ready for Windows 10?

Post by ian_halsall » Mon Aug 03, 2015 7:43 pm

just upgraded win7 64 bit to windows 10 - shocked - I set the updated going and left the house - when I got back it had finished - no prompts or anything

and the last song I was working on in Live and everything else I checked so far is working fine.

m-audio delta 2496 legacy pci card too!

good stuff

sporkles
Posts: 3188
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Re: So, who's ready for Windows 10?

Post by sporkles » Mon Aug 03, 2015 8:39 pm

Currently upgrading my laptop, which will be my test machine for Win 10. I hope my custom user folder location (secondary drive) doesn't cause any problems.

Edit: all right; about half-way into the process, I got a message that Windows was restoring my previous version. I guess I'm silly for trying this on a hotel connection anyway, just got a bit excited when I finally got the message that W10 was ready for installation... :roll:

H20nly
Posts: 15836
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: So, who's ready for Windows 10?

Post by H20nly » Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:08 pm

yur2die4 wrote:Yeah, my Firepod stopped working in 8. They stopped support at 7.

I've heard of some people tricking it into running in 8, but I have had no success.
change the compatibility settings on any associated software:

right click on yoursoftware.exe (executable)
select Properties
select Compatibility [tab]
check "Run this program in compatibility mode'
change dropdown to supported OS.
click Apply
click OK
say little prayer
try again

yur2die4
Posts: 6408
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: So, who's ready for Windows 10?

Post by yur2die4 » Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:24 pm

Yeah, I had tried that a few times in the past :/ I have someone else holding onto it, so thankfully for my sanity I won't attempt it again out of hope for random luck :P

H20nly
Posts: 15836
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: So, who's ready for Windows 10?

Post by H20nly » Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:27 pm

:lol: but :cry:

it actually works pretty well... i've seen it fix a number of issues with older software, but not music software... i've never seen it do that. thankfully, i haven't had to try yet.

i have:

Windows 7 8)
Mavericks 8)

they just work.

yur2die4
Posts: 6408
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: So, who's ready for Windows 10?

Post by yur2die4 » Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:29 pm

It is not just the software but also Win8's lack of FireWire support. When installing, it tells you this is not the right OS, even after trying to fool it with compatibility mode.

bytheriver
Posts: 360
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:53 pm

Re: So, who's ready for Windows 10?

Post by bytheriver » Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:25 am

Buleriachk wrote: Focusrites needed updates (2i2 and 18i8)

The current drivers work great for me on win10 64 with a 18i8, installed perfectly and not had a single issue with it.

crumhorn
Posts: 2503
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:04 pm

Re: So, who's ready for Windows 10?

Post by crumhorn » Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:56 am

yur2die4 wrote:Yeah, I had tried that a few times in the past :/ I have someone else holding onto it, so thankfully for my sanity I won't attempt it again out of hope for random luck :P
This is pretty much how I feel about it. Even though I know I shouldn't bother I'm probably going to waste several days trying anyway.
"The banjo is the perfect instrument for the antisocial."

(Allow me to plug my guitar scale visualiser thingy - www.fretlearner.com)

ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: So, who's ready for Windows 10?

Post by ian_halsall » Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:53 pm

screen snapping is awesome - great design and works perfectly

ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: So, who's ready for Windows 10?

Post by ian_halsall » Tue Aug 04, 2015 10:19 pm

starting to sound like Microsoft fanboy - must stop

XSIMan
Posts: 552
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:22 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: So, who's ready for Windows 10?

Post by XSIMan » Thu Aug 06, 2015 2:07 am

To get ilok working I had to
type in search
type services.msc then click it
scroll down to pace in the list right click it and click start.

To get my soundcard working I had to do a full power off after the driver was installed.

After that no problems I've been running Win 10 with Ableton Live 9.2 64bit for a week now.

RaezoR
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 9:24 am

Re: So, who's ready for Windows 10?

Post by RaezoR » Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:14 pm

After installing Windows 10 moving breakpoints with the mouse has become very difficult as the point moves too quickly, adjusting the mouse has no effect, and as far as I know there is no control of mouse movements inside Ableton 9.2

Post Reply