Suggestions for PC Desktop for running Live???

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
deckard1
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 9:54 pm

Re: Suggestions for PC Desktop for running Live???

Post by deckard1 » Sun May 17, 2015 3:22 am

I actually figured it out myself. I had to create a vst folder, put the vst plugins in this folder, and then browse for this specific folder in Live's Preferences. All is good now! :D
Apple 2009-2010 Mac Pro (64 bit); 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon Processor (max 12-core); 16 GB RAM 1333 MHz DDR3; (RAM max 64 GB)
OS X: Mavericks (10.9.4)


'Compatibility means deliberately repeating other people's mistakes’
- David Wheeler

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Suggestions for PC Desktop for running Live???

Post by Stromkraft » Sun May 17, 2015 4:13 am

deckard1 wrote:Many thanks!!! The ASIO4ALL did the trick.

If I could ask you guys just one more question I should be good to go with Live.
Live 9 manual: 17.3.1 The VST Plug-In Folder
Make some music!

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Suggestions for PC Desktop for running Live???

Post by Stromkraft » Sun May 17, 2015 4:13 am

deckard1 wrote:I actually figured it out myself. I had to create a vst folder, put the vst plugins in this folder, and then browse for this specific folder in Live's Preferences. All is good now! :D
Good for you! Make music!
Make some music!

yur2die4
Posts: 6440
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Suggestions for PC Desktop for running Live???

Post by yur2die4 » Sun May 17, 2015 4:16 am

Make sure that you are consistent with installing vsts. Some vsts you should not move after they are installed (usually NI plugs). If you install them in that folder, it should be fine. If you install them in another folder, moving them will cause them to lose track of the program that they are referencing since they're in a different directory than you designated on install.

Usually what I do is make a folder that has shortcuts to all my vsts inside it. Then I create an Ableton live folder inside that and only copy the ones I use into there. This way I have many vsts at my disposal (in the outer directory as a list), and only the necessary ones in the folder (faster loading time, less risk of glitches).

In the case of the NI ones, the best way to create that shortcut is to find the actual vst dll file, right click and Copy, then go to your vst folder and right click "Paste as Shortcut" instead of standard paste.

Have fun! Your computer sounds pretty nice (especially for the price!).

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Suggestions for PC Desktop for running Live???

Post by Stromkraft » Sun May 17, 2015 4:47 am

yur2die4 wrote:
In the case of the NI ones, the best way to create that shortcut is to find the actual vst dll file, right click and Copy, then go to your vst folder and right click "Paste as Shortcut" instead of standard paste.
Don't you have to set the proper permissions on the folder in Windows as well?
Make some music!

yur2die4
Posts: 6440
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Suggestions for PC Desktop for running Live???

Post by yur2die4 » Sun May 17, 2015 4:55 am

I've never experienced that, but I don't know if I've accidentally turned off any functions that would interfere haha. With the process I described, it has always gone very smoothly. Sometimes I'll even 'try a new assortment of vsts' in an Ableton directory version 2. But.... For most users,
It's probably best to have the one. I don't do many heavily time-invested, serious projects. I mostly just improvise and experiment.

deckard1
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 9:54 pm

Re: Suggestions for PC Desktop for running Live???

Post by deckard1 » Sun May 17, 2015 1:31 pm

Just a quick update...I am having major problems with loading samples in Omnisphere 2. Also, DIVA is out of control CPU-wise (I know DIVA is a CPU hog, but, I wasn't having this problem on my old Mac which had an SSD drive). I assume both of these problems are a result of the 5400 rpm HDD I have preinstalled on my new computer? Looks like I will have to save up for an SSD drive. They are quite expensive though. Is there anyway I could get a small sized SSD (to save some cash) and use it in conjunction with the 5400 HDD I have now?

Thanks.
Apple 2009-2010 Mac Pro (64 bit); 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon Processor (max 12-core); 16 GB RAM 1333 MHz DDR3; (RAM max 64 GB)
OS X: Mavericks (10.9.4)


'Compatibility means deliberately repeating other people's mistakes’
- David Wheeler

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Suggestions for PC Desktop for running Live???

Post by Stromkraft » Sun May 17, 2015 1:41 pm

deckard1 wrote:Is there anyway I could get a small sized SSD (to save some cash) and use it in conjunction with the 5400 HDD I have now?
Most desktops can hold multiple drives. The rpms are only part of the story for disk speed, however. You have to check tests for the disks you get as well as the bus speed of your motherboard. An SSD would probably be an improvement. But you should also check out 10.000 rpm drives like the WD VelociRaptor WD2500HHTZ 250GB 10000 RPM.

One way to be able to sell machines cheaply at a profit is unfortunately to skimp on parts. Which is why it's typically better to get your own parts and put them together.
Last edited by Stromkraft on Mon May 18, 2015 9:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Make some music!

deckard1
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 9:54 pm

Re: Suggestions for PC Desktop for running Live???

Post by deckard1 » Sun May 17, 2015 10:16 pm

I am going to get an SSD drive to replace the 5400 HDD I already have pre-installed on my PC tower right now. I knew the 5400 rpm HDD would not be ideal when I purchased the tower to begin with, but, I didn't think it would be this bad! :x

Unless, of course, it is something else that is causing the sample loading problems for Omnisphere? In which case, I am totally screwed. :lol:
Apple 2009-2010 Mac Pro (64 bit); 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon Processor (max 12-core); 16 GB RAM 1333 MHz DDR3; (RAM max 64 GB)
OS X: Mavericks (10.9.4)


'Compatibility means deliberately repeating other people's mistakes’
- David Wheeler

yur2die4
Posts: 6440
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Suggestions for PC Desktop for running Live???

Post by yur2die4 » Sun May 17, 2015 10:58 pm

When you say Problems loading samples, is it slow or is it unable to load them?

I don't imagine a hard drive completely killing the ability to load data. I don't know omnisphere that well admittedly, but it sounds like other factors could be at play. Are the directories all correct from installation etc?

Make sure that one of the first things you do is to have an installation disc of the operating system on that computer. I don't know if they supply it or if they have you make backup discs. But it might come in handy if any cloning attempts don't work out.

I'd definitely connect the original hard drive as a second drive. The main SSD for operating system plus loading specific sample sets, but keep it mostly clean, and then the 5400 for large quantities of files for sets etc. Otherwise your SSD will fill up quickly and you will lose the advantage of having it.

deckard1
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 9:54 pm

Re: Suggestions for PC Desktop for running Live???

Post by deckard1 » Mon May 18, 2015 1:00 am

Hey guys,

I should have listened to you to begin with. I am going to return the tower and build one myself. That way I will get exactly what I want. It will take some additional work to put together but I think it's worth it. At least I will have piece of mind. You said Newegg is the best place to purchase parts from?

Thanks.
Apple 2009-2010 Mac Pro (64 bit); 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon Processor (max 12-core); 16 GB RAM 1333 MHz DDR3; (RAM max 64 GB)
OS X: Mavericks (10.9.4)


'Compatibility means deliberately repeating other people's mistakes’
- David Wheeler

tedlogan
Posts: 1343
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
Contact:

Re: Suggestions for PC Desktop for running Live???

Post by tedlogan » Mon May 18, 2015 12:06 pm

You could use one of those online companies that build PCs for you, and it usually only costs marginally more than building it yourself.

Like PCspecialist.co.uk for example.

I don't know which companies you guys in the US have, but I'm sure you could easily Google an appropriate one (many build expensive gaming-only PCs, while others offer a wide range).

Otherwise, the DIY route could prove to be quite satisfying, having built it yourself and learnt a few things.

But as everyone says - avoid the high street pre-built ones as well as Alienware, Dell etc - way overpriced.

deckard1
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 9:54 pm

Re: Suggestions for PC Desktop for running Live???

Post by deckard1 » Mon May 18, 2015 12:51 pm

The other option is to buy a used Mac Pro tower. I live in Los Angeles and there are a ton of them listed on Craigslist for sale that are reasonably priced. The problem is I don't know enough about the Mac Pro towers spec-wise.
Apple 2009-2010 Mac Pro (64 bit); 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon Processor (max 12-core); 16 GB RAM 1333 MHz DDR3; (RAM max 64 GB)
OS X: Mavericks (10.9.4)


'Compatibility means deliberately repeating other people's mistakes’
- David Wheeler

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Suggestions for PC Desktop for running Live???

Post by Stromkraft » Mon May 18, 2015 1:44 pm

deckard1 wrote:The other option is to buy a used Mac Pro tower. I live in Los Angeles and there are a ton of them listed on Craigslist for sale that are reasonably priced. The problem is I don't know enough about the Mac Pro towers spec-wise.
Everymac > Mac Systems > Apple > Mac Pro

While a Mac Pro "Twelve Core" 2.4 (2012/Westmere) could be interesting, it would depend on what you want to use and how much of. You're putting more cores from an older CPU against fewer cores in a newer. You probably can resell a good Mac Pro quickly if you're not satisfied, so might be worth a try if you get a good deal.

Whether this alternative would be at a lower price point in total depends on a lot of things. I've picked up quite a few very nice Macs from Professionals, that already got their new machine and just want to sell off their old one(s) already paid for by their own business, at quite reasonable prices. But I have a skill and a nose for that. And I don't know the US 2nd hand market very well these days.
Make some music!

deckard1
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 9:54 pm

Re: Suggestions for PC Desktop for running Live???

Post by deckard1 » Mon May 18, 2015 9:49 pm

So I spoke with the guys at Newegg and here is what they recommended for an audio production PC I could put together for around $850 US. Let me know what you think:

Intel Core i7-4790K Devil’s Canyon Quad-Core 4.0GHz LGA 1150 BX80646I74790K Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4600

Rosewill Valens-500M, Valens Series 500W Modular Power Supply, 80 PLUS Gold Certified, Single +12V Rail, Intel 4th Gen CPU Ready, SLI & Crossfire Ready

SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E250B/AM 2.5" 250GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Western Digital Blue WD10EZEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

GIGABYTE GA-Z97-HD3 (rev. 2.0) LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model

DIYPC Skyline-07-G Black/Green SECC ATX Full Tower Gaming USB 3.0 Computer Case w/ 7 x 120mm Green fans

Thanks!
Apple 2009-2010 Mac Pro (64 bit); 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon Processor (max 12-core); 16 GB RAM 1333 MHz DDR3; (RAM max 64 GB)
OS X: Mavericks (10.9.4)


'Compatibility means deliberately repeating other people's mistakes’
- David Wheeler

Post Reply