Are Samples more accurate @bove 140 bpm

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Tagor
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:18 am

Are Samples more accurate @bove 140 bpm

Post by Tagor » Sat May 16, 2015 5:28 pm

Hi,
when i do a faster track only with vsti`s
it seem like ableton live becomes less accurate with higher speed.

It does not matter until 135, but above it seem to shift a little bit
the more plugins play together.

If i do same track and sounds using samples, its sound different.
it starts with the bassline which seem to be snappier when i use
samples instead of the vst.

Is that because of the latency, pdc ?

infernal.machine
Posts: 1051
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:34 am

Re: Are Samples more accurate @bove 140 bpm

Post by infernal.machine » Sat May 16, 2015 5:42 pm

Yes this is a known issue with Live. Once you get above 135BPM you start getting into tempos typical of Dubstep and Drum&Bass. Live was really only meant to handle minimal house (as evidenced through their demo videos), which is at the sweet spot of 120-130BPM. Ever notice how the default tempo is 120? This is not meant to be changed and altering it is sure to give you problems.

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Are Samples more accurate @bove 140 bpm

Post by Stromkraft » Mon May 18, 2015 10:49 am

Tagor wrote:Hi,
when i do a faster track only with vsti`s
it seem like ableton live becomes less accurate with higher speed.

It does not matter until 135, but above it seem to shift a little bit
the more plugins play together.

If i do same track and sounds using samples, its sound different.
it starts with the bassline which seem to be snappier when i use
samples instead of the vst.

Is that because of the latency, pdc ?
Tagor, all of this is hogwash. Served without proof, posing as a question and therefore completely without merit. You should have posted to The Lounge if you want to kid around.
Last edited by Stromkraft on Mon May 18, 2015 5:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Make some music!

phaded
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 5:00 pm

Re: Are Samples more accurate @bove 140 bpm

Post by phaded » Mon May 18, 2015 3:24 pm

infernal.machine wrote:Yes this is a known issue with Live. Once you get above 135BPM you start getting into tempos typical of Dubstep and Drum&Bass. Live was really only meant to handle minimal house (as evidenced through their demo videos), which is at the sweet spot of 120-130BPM. Ever notice how the default tempo is 120? This is not meant to be changed and altering it is sure to give you problems.
Tears :lol:

C.E.O. of The Zero-Fucks Commission

empathy1
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 5:38 pm

Re: Are Samples more accurate @bove 140 bpm

Post by empathy1 » Mon May 18, 2015 4:36 pm

infernal.machine wrote:Yes this is a known issue with Live. Once you get above 135BPM you start getting into tempos typical of Dubstep and Drum&Bass. Live was really only meant to handle minimal house (as evidenced through their demo videos), which is at the sweet spot of 120-130BPM. Ever notice how the default tempo is 120? This is not meant to be changed and altering it is sure to give you problems.
:roll:

Post Reply