Stuck

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
billz270

Stuck

Post by billz270 » Mon Jun 01, 2015 4:24 pm

I've been working on a track for a while now.. its got a lot of elements. it sounds quite progressive, but now I'm stuck. I have no clue where to take it, and feel like I'm not good with this electronic music bit. I've got a few other projects as well. And they are all pretty much in the same place. This question is to anybody who knows his/her stuff.. What do you usually do when u feel there is no progression happening?

billz270

Re: Stuck

Post by billz270 » Mon Jun 01, 2015 4:47 pm

Somebody reply.. any suggestion will do !

Idonotlikebroccoli

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Mon Jun 01, 2015 4:48 pm

I just keep starting new projects. On several occasions, I've casually started a new project and realised "Hey! That project I was stuck on a couple of months back has the perfect sound/progression/beats/theme for this new one!"

Your next favourite self-made track is X attempts away, so you simply need to start X new projects. Most attempts will be crap or nonsense, but that's true even for artists whose music you admire.

Make something you normally wouldn't make. Give yourself constraints. Try to deliberately make crap music. Practice music theory. Start daydreaming when you're in Live, and make film music for the sceneries in your mind.

Some tracks simply don't work for no apparent reason, so it's best not to be too attached. I have lots of 16 bar projects that would make fantastic full-length tracks. It's sad to let them go, but you can always get inspiration from them or sample them later!

dave dove

Post by dave dove » Mon Jun 01, 2015 5:09 pm

put it in the bank for later
do something else
have fun
try this:
https://www.ableton.com/en/blog/making- ... trategies/
available cheap download on apple ibooks
maybe elsewhere....

dave

ImNotDedYet

Post by ImNotDedYet » Tue Jun 02, 2015 3:37 am

I'll go contrary to the others.