Noises from Dub Machines Magnetic (SOLVED:Feature, not bug)

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
re:dream
Posts: 4554
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Noises from Dub Machines Magnetic (SOLVED:Feature, not bug)

Post by re:dream » Thu Jun 25, 2015 11:24 pm

I put an instance of Magnetic (Dub Machines) on an empty set and immediately notice significant amounts of intrusive noise.

Is this a bug? A feature?
Last edited by re:dream on Fri Jun 26, 2015 10:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

S4racen
Posts: 5218
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Noises from Dub Machines Magnetic

Post by S4racen » Fri Jun 26, 2015 12:31 am

Not noticed that myself, I'll give it a go when I'm home...

Any particular steps to replicate?

Cheers
D

re:dream
Posts: 4554
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Noises from Dub Machines Magnetic

Post by re:dream » Fri Jun 26, 2015 7:58 am

(1) Load up an empty Live set
(2) Load an instance of Magnetic
(3) Listen to the fizzing noise.

Winterpark
Posts: 1671
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 2:59 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Noises from Dub Machines Magnetic

Post by Winterpark » Fri Jun 26, 2015 8:30 am

It's the "noise" parameter... and is a feature.

if you don't like it, turn the noise down, or chuck a gate after it.
web | fb | sc | twt | bc

re:dream
Posts: 4554
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Noises from Dub Machines Magnetic

Post by re:dream » Fri Jun 26, 2015 10:12 am

OK, I got a very detailed response from Dub Machines, shared here for your information.
first of all, i hope dub machines have been good for you despite this ‘problem'.

secondly, yes, magnetic produces noise constantly. so this ‘problem’ is actually a ‘feature’, believe it or not ;-)

if the “Noise” slider is greater than 0%, noise is prominent and controllable. It is actually specific tape machine emulation noise that was present on the hardware devices even when not running any audio through them.

a tip to discover the noise:

- keep your spectrum device after the Magnetic device
- with no audio input, turn ‘Mix’ to 100%
- turn the ‘Noise’ slider up to 100%
- open the Magnetic ‘Breakout Button’ so you can see the advanced choices
- now click on the different ‘Character’ tabs, slowly…
- …you will hear a switching between different types of machine noise…
- …but now, with one character tab selected, choose either a tape only mode in the ‘Mode Selector’ (modes 1 - 4), then choose a with-reverb mode (modes 5 - 11)…
- …you will also hear the noise profiles change

other settings which affect the noise:

- whilst listening to these different noises, you can move the ‘Repeat’, ‘Wow’ & ‘Character Slider’ controls to hear how the noise morphs depending on tape machine settings.
- with no external audio input, it is possible to turn up the ‘Intensity' dial (and maybe turn down the ‘Repeat’ dial) and ‘self-oscillate' the entire device, so that is is acting like a filter of some kind.

as you can probably tell, all this was researched and studied and emulated in code with great detail. but this does not help your problem ;-)

as long as ‘Noise’ % slider is down at 0 %, and the ‘Character Slider’ in the ‘Breakout’ section is at 25 % or less, noise will never be greater than -110dB (below human hearing). it is programmed so that is shows activity with recent user interaction, but the noise should disappear completely if those ‘Noise’/‘Character’ sliders are down and ‘Intensity’ is low.

so, i hope you found this informative. if you are experiencing noise problems different to this, please do get in touch with your complete live / max / windows system specs and i’ll try and help you out further.

ultimately, you are not the first person to query our noise-emulation decisions! perhaps we were too faithful to the original ?! let us know what you think (very useful for us for further development).
8)

Pitch Black
Posts: 6444
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Noises from Dub Machines Magnetic (SOLVED:Feature, not bug)

Post by Pitch Black » Sat Jun 27, 2015 1:07 am

^ Wow what a great response! I keep the noise parameter at zero when using Magnetic, to get all of the retro juice with none of the retro "gristle"

Dr Dub
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:20 pm

Re: Noises from Dub Machines Magnetic (SOLVED:Feature, not bug)

Post by Dr Dub » Sun Jun 28, 2015 3:29 pm

what a nice response from Dub Machines!

Please don t get rid of the noise, it s nice to mess with, it s part of the niceness of using the Original and - if you don t like it you can turn it down.

As i do Dub Music (more on the Dub-Reggae side), i enjoy a bit of nice "dirt" for my tracks.
Sometimes it can be a great help for sounding organic and not to sterile.

p.s.: I really love that you added the Option to stay in sync with the project Tempo - keep up the good work.
Live Suite 9 - MBPR 15 - NI Komplete Audio 6 - Push - Brain - Hands - Melodica

login
Posts: 1816
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: Noises from Dub Machines Magnetic (SOLVED:Feature, not bug)

Post by login » Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:09 pm

Yeah a 201 emulation without the noise is not realistic at all.

By the way I would love to see an emulation of the roland re 501 chorus-echo.

Post Reply