Is a push necessary to learn live 9?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Imagine_Infinity
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 11:19 am

Is a push necessary to learn live 9?

Post by Imagine_Infinity » Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:07 pm

I've just recently started watching youtube tutorials and playing around in ableton, but I don't have a midi controller. I'm thinking of buying a push because they look really amazing, but they're so expensive. Would it be worth getting one now to learn about ableton, or instead just learn the basics without push and then get one later? Also, if I do get one, should I buy used or new?

Tarekith
Posts: 17775
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Is a push necessary to learn live 9?

Post by Tarekith » Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:15 pm

You could get one later IMO, people were using Live for many years before Push came along :)
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
Inner Portal Studio - Professional Audio Mastering

oddstep
Posts: 1732
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 9:47 pm
Location: Plymouth the great

Re: Is a push necessary to learn live 9?

Post by oddstep » Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:37 pm

get the cheapest thing you can find that has the ability to be midi mapped to live devices and lets you tap in midi notes. once you've had that for 4 months or so you'll get a better understanding of whether Push is worth it for the way you play. I managed for ages with a Korg padkontrol and nanokontrol.

Joel W-J
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 11:17 am

Re: Is a push necessary to learn live 9?

Post by Joel W-J » Sun Jul 05, 2015 8:39 am

I've got an AKAI MPKmini. This has pots, pads, Arpeggiator and a keyboard for all your tinkering needs. Once you start to get familiar with Abe you'll start to want more toys anyway. I started out without controllers. You can always learn to control midi with the computer keyboard. No faders and the like but the arrow keys would give you an idea. There is so much to get used to without controllers.

cskracer
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 7:53 am
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Is a push necessary to learn live 9?

Post by cskracer » Sun Jul 05, 2015 1:58 pm

As everyone else has posted you don't need a Push. If you want one though, you don't have to buy brand new. Plenty of decent secondhand ones around.

ambientidm
Posts: 402
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 4:57 am
Contact:

Re: Is a push necessary to learn live 9?

Post by ambientidm » Sun Jul 05, 2015 2:29 pm

no it isn't but in order to really take advantage of what live has over other DAWs then you need a good midi controller or two (or five or six)
Push happens to be the best one and it is the center of my studio
I have found the more i can get away from the screen the more I can get into creative flow which is why I have several controllers but Push is hub for all of them

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Is a push necessary to learn live 9?

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Sun Jul 05, 2015 2:37 pm

No. 90% of the time, I just use my mouse and computer keyboard. I only make music though - if you're talking about live performance, then I'd just start with a simple MIDI controller of some kind.
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

musikmachine
Posts: 628
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 12:56 am

Re: Is a push necessary to learn live 9?

Post by musikmachine » Sun Jul 05, 2015 2:48 pm

I was gonna say what Tarekith said but if you've got an iPad touchable 3 is worth a look, i just picked it up recently and it is really well implemented on the iPad.

There's also stuff like DDC control wich can be used with most midi controllers but takes a bit of setting up.

mcdreamer
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 8:29 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Is a push necessary to learn live 9?

Post by mcdreamer » Sun Jul 05, 2015 8:37 pm

I started with a Launchpad and LaunchControl. They were really good but I felt hampered by the lack of a screen for displaying parameter names. I sold them and got a Push. Never looked back.

pinkpaint
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 3:14 am

Re: Is a push necessary to learn live 9?

Post by pinkpaint » Mon Jul 06, 2015 1:01 am

I own a push but honestly don't use it...

I don't use clip view so recording with the push actually slows down my workflow..

I am much quicker with a keyboard and mouse.

nathannn
Posts: 3317
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:38 am
Location: U.S.

Re: Is a push necessary to learn live 9?

Post by nathannn » Mon Jul 06, 2015 1:55 am

^^^ Same here. I find push fun to mess around with and make drum beats, but I am finding it difficult to record a performance as I would with a midi keyboard.
With push its too easy to accidentally trigger unwanted double notes. I also find it easier just to load instruments with my mouse. With push its almost like taking a step back in time - scrolling through presets while looking at a lcd from an 80s stereo.
Also you can't edit audio properly with push. So I would say no you don't need it.
The Push / Novation Launch Pad / Novation Launch Pad Pro / Novation Launch Key
/ Launch Control XL / Machine MkII / Machine Studio / BeatStep / Livid OhmRGB / Livid Code V2 / Apc 40 MKII

no computers or synths

20 Copies of Ableton Live Lite.

Post Reply