Can't drag and drop mp3s in Live

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
SBRK
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:26 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Can't drag and drop mp3s in Live

Post by SBRK » Thu Jul 09, 2015 7:42 pm

I've been having a weird problem for several weeks now : I can't drag and drop mp3 files to Ableton Live anymore. If I drag them from a folder within the software, it works, but whenever I try to do it from the OS (Windows 8.1), I can't.
With the beta version of Live 9.2, it does work, but with the final version of 9.2, it still does not... I have tried reinstalling multiple times, without success...

Tarekith
Posts: 17417
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Can't drag and drop mp3s in Live

Post by Tarekith » Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:00 pm

Is your decoding cache full?

regretfullySaid
Posts: 8913
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:50 pm

Re: Can't drag and drop mp3s in Live

Post by regretfullySaid » Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:51 pm

or running as Administrator?
ImageImage

SBRK
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:26 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Can't drag and drop mp3s in Live

Post by SBRK » Tue Jul 14, 2015 12:29 pm

shadx312 wrote:or running as Administrator?
Yep, that was that ! Thanks

regretfullySaid
Posts: 8913
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:50 pm

Re: Can't drag and drop mp3s in Live

Post by regretfullySaid » Tue Jul 14, 2015 3:13 pm

You are welcome, Sir.
ImageImage

MrMcKMusic
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2019 3:42 am

Re: Can't drag and drop mp3s in Live

Post by MrMcKMusic » Mon Sep 23, 2019 3:43 am

Tarekith wrote:
Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:00 pm
Is your decoding cache full?
Where do I find the deciding cache? Running as admin didn’t work for me.

vespasianthesubguest
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:58 pm

Re: Can't drag and drop mp3s in Live

Post by vespasianthesubguest » Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:47 pm

Hiya,

I have the same problem. Running in admin too. Version 10. I have controlled folder access enabled but have allowed through the following:

ableton index.exe
ableton web connector.exe
ableton live 10 standard.exe
ableton swapper.exe

I was able to drag stuff in version 8. What's the issue?

pottering
Posts: 780
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Can't drag and drop mp3s in Live

Post by pottering » Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:29 pm

It is the file explorer that has to be running as admin, not Live.

You can't drag from a non-admin app into a admin app.

If you set Live to run as admin, then any app you want to drag files from into Live has to be running as admin too.

That's how OS security works.

Live doesn't even need admin permissions (and only runs as admin with user intervention).

IMO it is simpler to just run Live as non-admin, it is the default.

jestermgee
Posts: 3574
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: Can't drag and drop mp3s in Live

Post by jestermgee » Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:41 pm

pottering wrote:
Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:29 pm
IMO it is simpler to just run Live as non-admin, it is the default.
Basically this. You will always have issues with drag-n-drop for all the mentioned reasons if you run Live as Admin so disable that and it should start working again.

BrandonE
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 5:49 pm

Re: Can't drag and drop mp3s in Live

Post by BrandonE » Mon Dec 02, 2019 5:53 pm

pottering wrote:
Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:29 pm
It is the file explorer that has to be running as admin, not Live.

You can't drag from a non-admin app into a admin app.

If you set Live to run as admin, then any app you want to drag files from into Live has to be running as admin too.

That's how OS security works.

Live doesn't even need admin permissions (and only runs as admin with user intervention).

IMO it is simpler to just run Live as non-admin, it is the default.
[/quote


How do i set the file explorer on a MAC to not run as admin ? please help!!! Losing my fucking mind seeing all my vocal clips empty and getting a message saying(THIS SAMPLE CONTAINS NO AUDIO DATA) All after running the most recent mac update.

BrandonE
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 5:49 pm

Re: Can't drag and drop mp3s in Live

Post by BrandonE » Mon Dec 02, 2019 5:56 pm

pottering wrote:
Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:29 pm
It is the file explorer that has to be running as admin, not Live.

You can't drag from a non-admin app into a admin app.

If you set Live to run as admin, then any app you want to drag files from into Live has to be running as admin too.

That's how OS security works.

Live doesn't even need admin permissions (and only runs as admin with user intervention).

IMO it is simpler to just run Live as non-admin, it is the default.




How do i set the file explorer on a MAC to not run as admin ? please help!!! Losing my fucking mind seeing all my vocal clips empty and getting a message saying(THIS SAMPLE CONTAINS NO AUDIO DATA) All after running the most recent mac update.

TLW
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:37 am

Re: Can't drag and drop mp3s in Live

Post by TLW » Mon Dec 02, 2019 8:20 pm

I doubt trying to solve a problem on a Mac by attempting to apply a Windows solution to it is going to be very successful.

The two operating systems are very, very different.

Finder runs under the privileges of the account that has launched it. Which happens when someone logs on to that account. To prevent Finder running with administrator privileges create a user account that isn't an administrator one and try using that.

I have no problem dragging mp3s into Live if the account I use is an administrator one.

Is dragging and dropping mp3s into Live your problem, or is it something else?
Live 10 Suite, 2014/15 MacBook Pro 15.3” Retina i7, OS Mojave 10.14.5. RME UFX, assorted synths, guitars and stuff.

Post Reply