If I export at 120 BPM, Traktor reads it as 60 BPM. Why?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: If I export at 120 BPM, Traktor reads it as 60 BPM. Why?

Post by beats me » Tue Sep 29, 2015 5:06 pm

The snare goes on the 2 and on the 4 in a bar. Given that, Dubstep is not 130 – 140+ BPM. :x

Donnie
Posts: 810
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Contact:

Re: If I export at 120 BPM, Traktor reads it as 60 BPM. Why?

Post by Donnie » Tue Sep 29, 2015 6:00 pm

It's not really an argument. That's the average range ;)

That is, unless you are trying to argue 70bpm vs 140bpm, in which case it's an argument of perception.

yur2die4
Posts: 6428
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: If I export at 120 BPM, Traktor reads it as 60 BPM. Why?

Post by yur2die4 » Tue Sep 29, 2015 6:03 pm

When I try adding 1/4 to 1/4 on my calculator it always shows up as 1/2!

WHAT GIVES

I need it to be 2/4.
(My calculator is dumb)

H20nly
Posts: 15838
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: If I export at 120 BPM, Traktor reads it as 60 BPM. Why?

Post by H20nly » Tue Sep 29, 2015 6:55 pm

Image

yur2die4
Posts: 6428
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: If I export at 120 BPM, Traktor reads it as 60 BPM. Why?

Post by yur2die4 » Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:02 pm

Image

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: If I export at 120 BPM, Traktor reads it as 60 BPM. Why?

Post by beats me » Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:37 pm

Donnie wrote:It's not really an argument. That's the average range ;)

That is, unless you are trying to argue 70bpm vs 140bpm, in which case it's an argument of perception.

And that’s my point, Traktor is perceiving half/double the actual tempo. :|


I mean honestly, if you were playing with a live drummer and wanted him to play a 120 BPM beat you wouldn’t ask him to play a 240 BPM beat because that’s how you roll in your DAW. FFS. :x

Piplodocus
Posts: 791
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:48 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: If I export at 120 BPM, Traktor reads it as 60 BPM. Why?

Post by Piplodocus » Fri Oct 02, 2015 12:43 am

If it's detecting it at half tempo and you don't want to press that button someone mentioned, you should have made the track more in-your-face Trance! :lol:

Post Reply