Clocking Modular with Audio Pulse

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
neilmcm1975
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:12 am

Clocking Modular with Audio Pulse

Post by neilmcm1975 » Wed Sep 09, 2015 10:08 am

I have set up a simpler with audio pulse and I have set the audio output to my modular so it will run the clock of my system , this works fine but I can hear the audio pulse over a track , tried setting monitoring to off but then I lose the pulse to my modular , any help would be great .

Richie Witch
Posts: 1018
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 10:10 pm
Location: Washington, DC
Contact:

Re: Clocking Modular with Audio Pulse

Post by Richie Witch » Wed Sep 09, 2015 11:04 am

I had a similar problem with "thump" in my modular.

The trick is to run the pulse through a slew limiter first, to cut the abrupt leading edge of the pulse. If you have a VCA with an anti-thump adjustment (usually a trim pot on the back of the module), you can use that too.
"Watching the Sky" ~ A 4-track EP of piano, strings, and Native American flute

Richie Witch
Posts: 1018
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 10:10 pm
Location: Washington, DC
Contact:

Re: Clocking Modular with Audio Pulse

Post by Richie Witch » Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:34 pm

Had another idea while I was in a meeting this morning...

I remembered that I've clocked my modular off a looping clip with kick drum samples on it. And when I use my drum machine as a trigger source, I usually use the kick from that too. So try swapping out your pulse sample with a kick drum sample. That will probably eliminate your thump problem as well.
"Watching the Sky" ~ A 4-track EP of piano, strings, and Native American flute

Post Reply