Routing MIDI tracks

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
8E
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 11:25 am
Location: +ICXC·NIKA+

Routing MIDI tracks

Post by 8E » Fri Sep 11, 2015 12:44 pm

Regarding another topic (answered) at viewtopic.php?f=1&t=217237 I want to create the following setup (only MIDI involved):

Image

So, I want to:
1. Play one note on the track 1: [MIDI Ch Input]
2. This is routed to four tracks (2-5): [MIDI effect1], [MIDI effect2], [MIDI effect3], [MIDI effect4] (with arpeggio effect, chord, etc...)
3. From all this channels route to the track 6: [MIDI instrument] (here I want to apply effect scale WITH automation)

My intention is to apply instrument+scale/automation (Track 6) for all processed/automated effects (tracks 2-5) from a single note (track 1). The point is to have (a) single input, (b) different effects with their own automations, (c) one instrument and one additional effect applied to the sum of previous effects.

If there is any other solution - welcome!!
O8
MacBook Pro (15", Mid 2015), 2,5 GHz i7, 16GB RAM / OS X El C Live Suite 9.7.6 + Push 1

8E
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 11:25 am
Location: +ICXC·NIKA+

Re: Routing MIDI tracks

Post by 8E » Tue Sep 15, 2015 4:40 am

Anyone?
MacBook Pro (15", Mid 2015), 2,5 GHz i7, 16GB RAM / OS X El C Live Suite 9.7.6 + Push 1

Winterpark
Posts: 1671
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 2:59 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Routing MIDI tracks

Post by Winterpark » Tue Sep 15, 2015 5:18 am

Why do that when you can make a Midi FX rack, which has parallel chains of each of those FX, so you can keep it all within one midi track?
web | fb | sc | twt | bc

Angstrom
Posts: 14669
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing MIDI tracks

Post by Angstrom » Tue Sep 15, 2015 10:38 am

Winterpark wrote:Why do that when you can make a Midi FX rack, which has parallel chains of each of those FX, so you can keep it all within one midi track?
My thoughts exactly.
The diagram is effectively of a MIDI rack and is therefore already do-able.
I assume OP doen't know about racks yet.

Look 'em up in the manual OP. Racks.

8E
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 11:25 am
Location: +ICXC·NIKA+

Re: Routing MIDI tracks

Post by 8E » Tue Sep 15, 2015 1:45 pm

Yes, I am not aware of Racks. I am just the beginner. I will explore it and if unclear I will be back.

Just a note, I am using Live Lite 9, and I wonder if Racks are available in this version too?
MacBook Pro (15", Mid 2015), 2,5 GHz i7, 16GB RAM / OS X El C Live Suite 9.7.6 + Push 1

Post Reply