Page 8 of 10

Re: Live 9.5

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 11:06 am
by starving student
so how is the quality of the slicing ? and for you guys who don't have push 2 how are you utilizing the new slicing features?

Re: Live 9.5

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 2:19 pm
by dna598
starving student wrote:so how is the quality of the slicing ? and for you guys who don't have push 2 how are you utilizing the new slicing features?
Great addition and all but..
It is rudimentary. I find it cumbersome. No click to audition slices. So when you're zoomed in trying to fix the inaccurate slice detection (no improvement there), you gotta look away to find the right key to hit.
There is no way to listen to the loop in its entirety, once its in slice mode, which i'm kinda used to doing when slicing.
I cannot see any custom slicing dialog when choosing slice to midi in simpler.

Re: Live 9.5

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 2:57 pm
by oddstep
thru mode

Re: Live 9.5

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 3:00 pm
by scheffkoch
...pad sclicing seems to be the "custom slices" method...

Re: Live 9.5

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 3:46 pm
by daddytang
Simpler is cool but it needs the ability to dig in and audition slices and manipulate them. New Sonic Arts Vice kills Simpler with its ability to surgically manipulate slices.

Re: Live 9.5

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 4:29 pm
by scheffkoch
...you mean this type of manipulation of slices: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mA1NQO1cbT0 ?

Re: Live 9.5

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 5:16 pm
by daddytang

Re: Live 9.5

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 5:44 pm
by mercury007
And also no way to slice by 16ths or 8ths, etc, which is usually standard.

Re: Live 9.5

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 8:06 pm
by LFO8
LFO8 wrote:I am glad that 9.5 now lets clips be automatically colored by the track color, but I was surprised that the clips you already have loaded onto a track do not change color when you change the tracks color?? 8O

That was the kind of proper behaviour (and timesaver) I was expecting to be honest.

So no one else was wondering this?

Re: Live 9.5

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 1:24 am
by Stromkraft
LFO8 wrote:
LFO8 wrote:I am glad that 9.5 now lets clips be automatically colored by the track color, but I was surprised that the clips you already have loaded onto a track do not change color when you change the tracks color?? 8O

That was the kind of proper behaviour (and timesaver) I was expecting to be honest.
So no one else was wondering this?
Ableton have wisely chosen to not irritate users with such a default. What if I don't want Live to recolor pre-existing clips? Why should it when the user have chosen the color already? Selecting clips and changing the color takes no more than a few seconds per track anyway. No "time saving" Apple-style defaults, thank you. Intelligent design means interacting with the user, not actively getting involved into the decision process.

Re: Live 9.5

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 10:02 pm
by LFO8
Stromkraft wrote:
LFO8 wrote:
LFO8 wrote:I am glad that 9.5 now lets clips be automatically colored by the track color, but I was surprised that the clips you already have loaded onto a track do not change color when you change the tracks color?? 8O

That was the kind of proper behaviour (and timesaver) I was expecting to be honest.
So no one else was wondering this?
Ableton have wisely chosen to not irritate users with such a default. What if I don't want Live to recolor pre-existing clips? Why should it when the user have chosen the color already? Selecting clips and changing the color takes no more than a few seconds per track anyway. No "time saving" Apple-style defaults, thank you. Intelligent design means interacting with the user, not actively getting involved into the decision process.
To me, that is exactly what automatically assigning clip colors should be. I mean why have it enabled for every clip that gets loaded into a colored track but nut when you decide to change the track color when there are clips loaded on that track already. Any extra mouse click that can be prevented is a good thing imo. These settings can be made optional in the preference panel. This way everyone can be happy.. no?

Re: Live 9.5

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 10:22 pm
by solovox
For those of you that agree Ableton needs to give users the option of having clip colors automatically all be the same as a track, please VOTE here:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=218233&start=0

Re: Live 9.5

Posted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 4:57 am
by re:dream
Anyone getting crashes?

I am, with the new M4L synths...

Re: Live 9.5

Posted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:12 am
by Tarekith
Are you using the latest version of Max? Do you have java installed?

Re: Live 9.5

Posted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 9:22 am
by oddstep
solovox wrote:For those of you that agree Ableton needs to give users the option of having clip colors automatically all be the same as a track, please VOTE here:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=218233&start=0
i'd rather they focussed developer time on making sampler as good as simpler and opening up the audio clip to simpler conversion api call to non-push users.