Anyone else having an issue with 'Auto-Assign Track Colors?"

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
zeepster
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 2:03 pm

No Color option? 9.5

Post by zeepster » Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:09 am

Love the update. But can you please add the [No Color] option back for tracks?
That would usually be the background color. Very easy to look at, and to build on, gradually coloring tracks that are key.

There's no way now to select the background color as default track color.

zeepster
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 2:03 pm

Re: No Color option? 9.5

Post by zeepster » Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:43 am

ShelLuser wrote:
zeepster wrote:Love the update. But can you please add the [No Color] option back for tracks?
Agreed. But I think this would now interfere with the session clips which automatically get the track color assigned to them (which is a feature I personally dislike).

I'm not sure which color scheme you're using but there are settings to make the color more or less blend in.
Yes that too. I would like a simple on/off option for auto coloring both tracks and clips.

I use the Cloud scheme and no grey tint color matches that background. It's an eyesore seeing tracks not fitting the theme when they're grey now.

bencodec
Posts: 330
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 5:14 pm
Location: Brooklyn

Re: No Color option? 9.5

Post by bencodec » Tue Nov 03, 2015 3:29 am

yeah, there is no background color option, however you can turn off auto coloring, and set the default color all tracks should start with. Then just choose the same color as your background.
Macbook Pro unibody 2.2 Ghz Quad i7, 16GB RAM, 512MB graphics, 500 GB SSD, 500 GB HD, Mac OS 10.8
http://www.bangbang-nyc.com

zeepster
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 2:03 pm

Re: No Color option? 9.5

Post by zeepster » Tue Nov 03, 2015 3:46 am

bencodec wrote:yeah, there is no background color option, however you can turn off auto coloring, and set the default color all tracks should start with. Then just choose the same color as your background.
That's what i tried too, but you can't. I use the Cloud scheme and no grey tint color matches that background. I doubt it matches for many other schemes.

ash1
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:11 am

ableton 9.5 Auto assign Clip Color help

Post by ash1 » Wed Nov 04, 2015 11:33 am

regarding the auto colour when i drag a sample in or a loop to ableton the colors dont match is this a bug

ash1
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:11 am

Re: ableton 9.5 Auto assign Clip Color help

Post by ash1 » Wed Nov 04, 2015 2:54 pm

my mistake it colors midi clips the same but not audio clips

solovox
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 6:41 am
Location: Portland
Contact:

Anyone else having an issue with 'Auto-Assign Track Colors?"

Post by solovox » Thu Nov 05, 2015 8:28 am

It seems whether I have this assignment 'On' or 'Off,' Live 9.5 is making each clip the color of it's track. That particular method does not work with my particular flow, so I would like things to go back to Random colors, but it seems like it's not working.

Anyone else having this issue? Is it a bug or am I missing something?
Live Show Rig: quad-core i7, 16 gig RAM, SSD, MOTU Ultralite, Windows 7.

Desktop Rig: 8 core Xeon, 20 gig RAM, RAID 0 drives, Echo Layla PCI, Windows 10

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Anyone else having an issue with 'Auto-Assign Track Colors?"

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Thu Nov 05, 2015 8:40 am

They seem to have removed random clip colours. I guess they decided it's better if they all look exactly the same. I would also like them back.
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

solovox
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 6:41 am
Location: Portland
Contact:

Re: Anyone else having an issue with 'Auto-Assign Track Colors?"

Post by solovox » Thu Nov 05, 2015 8:49 am

Well, according to their information it's supposed to be optional with the Preference button...but it's not working.
Live Show Rig: quad-core i7, 16 gig RAM, SSD, MOTU Ultralite, Windows 7.

Desktop Rig: 8 core Xeon, 20 gig RAM, RAID 0 drives, Echo Layla PCI, Windows 10

scheffkoch
Posts: 520
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Anyone else having an issue with 'Auto-Assign Track Colors?"

Post by scheffkoch » Thu Nov 05, 2015 10:36 am

...isn't the option only related to the coloring of the track?...
macbook pro late 2018, osx 10.14.6, rme multiface via sonnet thunderbolt expresscard adapter + thunderbolt to usb-c adapter, ableton live 10.1.7, push 2, komplete 9, maschine 2.9.2, touchable

solovox
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 6:41 am
Location: Portland
Contact:

Re: Anyone else having an issue with 'Auto-Assign Track Colors?"

Post by solovox » Thu Nov 05, 2015 3:48 pm

Oh my God. I think you're right.

So Ableton thinks we want every clip in every channel to be the exact same color??

Who would want this? How am I going to tell different musical ideas apart onstage? Are we supposed to MANUALLY change the color of every clip from now on?

This can't be for real.
Live Show Rig: quad-core i7, 16 gig RAM, SSD, MOTU Ultralite, Windows 7.

Desktop Rig: 8 core Xeon, 20 gig RAM, RAID 0 drives, Echo Layla PCI, Windows 10

scheffkoch
Posts: 520
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Anyone else having an issue with 'Auto-Assign Track Colors?"

Post by scheffkoch » Thu Nov 05, 2015 4:08 pm

...i want this!!!!...within my set i have a different color for each track and each track represents an "intrument type" like pads, bass, keys and so on...having a bunch of different various clip colors confuses me...actually i was happy when sonicbloom released a m4l device that does what now is the standard...
macbook pro late 2018, osx 10.14.6, rme multiface via sonnet thunderbolt expresscard adapter + thunderbolt to usb-c adapter, ableton live 10.1.7, push 2, komplete 9, maschine 2.9.2, touchable

timday
Posts: 565
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 1:02 pm

Re: Anyone else having an issue with 'Auto-Assign Track Colors?"

Post by timday » Thu Nov 05, 2015 5:43 pm

I'm slightly annoyed because I don't actually like the auto assign track colours - I used to colour tracks according to synth, bass, vocal etc and now it colours them for me according to a colour scheme of its own devising. If I turn the track colours off any new clips are coloured grey. Blecchh. So I'll have to re colour all the tracks.

Would like the old behavour back as an option. Meh. Maybe I'll get used to it.

mrgrim3
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:04 am

Re: Anyone else having an issue with 'Auto-Assign Track Colors?"

Post by mrgrim3 » Thu Nov 05, 2015 6:46 pm

I don't like how it will pick the dark colors with the white text
the white text just looks ugly I think and blurry around the edges
I use just default grey skin

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2122
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Anyone else having an issue with 'Auto-Assign Track Colors?"

Post by [jur] » Thu Nov 05, 2015 6:49 pm

[Topics merged]
Ableton Forum Moderator

Post Reply