Push 2 for a Maschine User

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Jack Spizzle
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 10:44 pm

Push 2 for a Maschine User

Post by Jack Spizzle » Fri Nov 13, 2015 11:13 pm

Hey guys,

This is my first post here. I have been using Live on and off for about a decade and finally decided to dive in fully. So I have the Push 2 and as a Maschine user there are some things I know I'll have to get used to. I've only had it for one night and I'm already playing cool melodies I wouldn't have before. I really like it, but did have a small panicking feeling that I may have made a mistake. It was short lived and I do want to give it a chance.

Another thing is I sold my Maschine Studio due to financial problems I was having. Now that I'm financially back on track, Push 2 seems perfect. However I'm still in my 30 day period where, I can return it. I doubt that will happen once I get used to it, but I'm watching the calendar. What I love about it is the complete bliss I get when creating melodies with this thing. It's really amazing. (If you want to hear a couple of things I made with it you can check my instagram @jspadeofficial)

However With the the workflow being so different, and there are a couple of things that kind of urk me:

1. Can't edit midi data from the hardware. This is not that big of a deal, but I'm used to the Maschine Studio screens.
2. When I'm overdubbing a drum loop, there is no count in when I press record. I tried pressing shift record, Play record, Nothing works. Is this just the way it is? I guess I could map a button to do this?
3. When selecting a drum pad, is there a way to play it in different pitches similar to machine's keyboard mode? This is how I get cool pitched rolls and high hats with Maschine.
4. The tap tempo button is kinda of weird and hard to get to.

I do like mostly everything about it, but if you anyone can help with the overdubbing especially, it would make it so much better. Thanks.

Tarekith
Posts: 17242
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Push 2 for a Maschine User

Post by Tarekith » Fri Nov 13, 2015 11:39 pm

1. Can't edit midi data from the hardware. This is not that big of a deal, but I'm used to the Maschine Studio screens.

>>> Yup, not possible on Push 1/2. If you hold down a note in the layout screen, you can edit some things like velocity and nudging, but's more about capturing ideas versus editing them afterwards. <<<

2. When I'm overdubbing a drum loop, there is no count in when I press record. I tried pressing shift record, Play record, Nothing works. Is this just the way it is? I guess I could map a button to do this?

>>> Check the manual on the metronome functionality, you can set it to do count ins if you want. Oh wait, you mean on a track that already has a midi clip recorded? I'll have to check that. <<<

3. When selecting a drum pad, is there a way to play it in different pitches similar to machine's keyboard mode? This is how I get cool pitched rolls and high hats with Maschine.

>>> No, you can't "unroll" a pad in a drum rack to be a playable instrument in Live like you can Maschine. You'd need to load it as it's own instrument on a new track. <<

4. The tap tempo button is kinda of weird and hard to get to.

>>> That's personal (doesn't bother me), but you're not alone (I've seen other people say this too). <<<

I do like mostly everything about it, but if you anyone can help with the overdubbing especially, it would make it so much better. Thanks.

Jack Spizzle
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 10:44 pm

Re: Push 2 for a Maschine User

Post by Jack Spizzle » Fri Nov 13, 2015 11:48 pm

I've haven't found any information on that overdub count in, it only does the count in on an empty track. There's gotta be a setting, I just can't find it.

Is there an easy way to turn a drum pad into its own instrument? That would work for me.

The tap temp is just recessed so i miss it. Maybe gotta work on my coordination lol.

I honestly just have to give it a shot. I still have Maschine muscle memory, but this may be better for me in the long run, just gotta give it more time. I did create 2 cool ideas last night so its doing its job.

Fugazi81
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 6:38 pm

Re: Push 2 for a Maschine User

Post by Fugazi81 » Sat Nov 14, 2015 10:19 am

Jack Spizzle wrote:I've haven't found any information on that overdub count in, it only does the count in on an empty track. There's gotta be a setting, I just can't find it.

Is there an easy way to turn a drum pad into its own instrument? That would work for me.

The tap temp is just recessed so i miss it. Maybe gotta work on my coordination lol.

I honestly just have to give it a shot. I still have Maschine muscle memory, but this may be better for me in the long run, just gotta give it more time. I did create 2 cool ideas last night so its doing its job.

Hi Jack,

you don´t need to look for an option, because there is non. There is no count in on a recorded midi track. That´s a real PITA. :evil:

On Push 2 you have the CONVERT button. Select + Drumpad than hit convert and select "Convert Selected-Pad to" -> MIDI Track
This will creat a new MIDI Track with your slected Pad as Simpler instrument, than you can play different pitches. Not as simple as on Maschine but easy enough. :)

Jack Spizzle
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 10:44 pm

Re: Push 2 for a Maschine User

Post by Jack Spizzle » Sat Nov 14, 2015 12:50 pm

]


Hi Jack,

you don´t need to look for an option, because there is non. There is no count in on a recorded midi track. That´s a real PITA. :evil:

On Push 2 you have the CONVERT button. Select + Drumpad than hit convert and select "Convert Selected-Pad to" -> MIDI Track
This will creat a new MIDI Track with your slected Pad as Simpler instrument, than you can play different pitches. Not as simple as on Maschine but easy enough. :)[/quote]



That kind of sucks for when I'm building drums but I got it mapped to the 5 key on my keyboard as a work around. shoukd be on the controller that seems like on oversight. I think I tried the convert button but there was no midi option. I'll try it again, and I'll start reading through the manual more.

On another note, (no pun intended) I'm totally onboard with Push, don't know what I was thinking. I guess I was a little intimidated but now that I'm getting used to it, I'm amazed. It's really fun, don't see myself copping a Maschine for a while. A Komplete kontrol would be nice to load my NI stuff tho

tedlogan
Posts: 1343
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
Contact:

Re: Push 2 for a Maschine User

Post by tedlogan » Sat Nov 14, 2015 1:16 pm

Jack Spizzle wrote:3. When selecting a drum pad, is there a way to play it in different pitches similar to machine's keyboard mode? This is how I get cool pitched rolls and high hats with Maschine
You could step-automate the transpose parameter within the drum sequencer (from Push I mean) for the rolls and hihats. Won't be as quick as how you're used to I'm guessing, but it works. It's not particularly slow or anything.

Jack Spizzle
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 10:44 pm

Re: Push 2 for a Maschine User

Post by Jack Spizzle » Sat Nov 14, 2015 1:53 pm

tedlogan wrote:
Jack Spizzle wrote:3. When selecting a drum pad, is there a way to play it in different pitches similar to machine's keyboard mode? This is how I get cool pitched rolls and high hats with Maschine
You could step-automate the transpose parameter within the drum sequencer (from Push I mean) for the rolls and hihats. Won't be as quick as how you're used to I'm guessing, but it works. It's not particularly slow or anything.

Hmmm that step automation seems to open up a lot more options. Now that's cool. I can see many other ways to use that. As far as the pitched rolls, it probably would be easier to draw a ramp in the arrange. Something I can do now because ableton's automation is far superior. Thanks for the help!

panten
Posts: 876
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:02 pm
Location: South of London

Re: Push 2 for a Maschine User

Post by panten » Sat Nov 14, 2015 10:35 pm

For what it's worth PXT-Live+ can do numbers 1 & 3 on your list.
I know this thread is about Push 2 but Stray might get around to updating PXT-Live one day.

https://youtu.be/3yFjazHcKCo?t=1m36s <- This vid shows the PXT-Live drumRack mode.

Jack Spizzle
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 10:44 pm

Re: Push 2 for a Maschine User

Post by Jack Spizzle » Sun Nov 15, 2015 1:08 am

Yeah I'm patiently waiting. That's different from the audio modder one right?

Post Reply