After 10 years : why is midi mapping in Live so archaic ?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
login
Posts: 1816
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: After 10 years : why is midi mapping in Live so archaic ?

Post by login » Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:57 pm

Nativekontrol DDC gets around the set and instances limitations, as well as the 8 parameters limit of the basic user remote script.

chapelier fou
Posts: 4978
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: After 10 years : why is midi mapping in Live so archaic ?

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Feb 22, 2016 4:45 pm

login wrote:Nativekontrol DDC gets around the set and instances limitations, as well as the 8 parameters limit of the basic user remote script.
i'll check this out, thanks.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: After 10 years : why is midi mapping in Live so archaic ?

Post by JuanSOLO » Tue Feb 23, 2016 5:03 am

chapelier fou wrote:
JuanSOLO wrote:Bomes Midi Translator overcomes most midi limitations in Live.
Maybe, but i don't think it allows different configurations to be loaded with a liveset.
Probably not, but you could have corresponding bomes templates per live set, or like a default template that you build upon for each live set.
There's some pretty fancy stuff you can do with Bomes and the control_surface things.
I liked working with Live, using a base template combined with Bomes created for working a bit more organically with the laptop, but with self imposed limitations. Similar to what Push has become. I used to try to get to a similar place using Bomes and the APC40.

Bomes really broke down most of my midi limitations, but mainly because you are "translating/altering" the data.
I really learned a lot about midi.

I do think Live mapping is behind the times.
There's so many good ideas in this thread already.
I always wanted to see Live borrow some ideas from Traktor, or from the M4L community.

Still, the fact that you cant map 2 different knobs to a single parameter in Live, is silly.
Things like that, Bomes overcomes with ease.

chapelier fou
Posts: 4978
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: After 10 years : why is midi mapping in Live so archaic ?

Post by chapelier fou » Tue Feb 23, 2016 7:28 am

No way i have to switch bome's presets on stage.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Post Reply