APC 40 mkii (show clip currently playing)

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
junqueira
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 6:02 am
Contact:

APC 40 mkii (show clip currently playing)

Post by junqueira » Mon Nov 23, 2015 11:21 pm

Does anyone know how to enable this feature? When I trigger a clip in ableton with my APC 40 mkii, I want Ableton to show the clip i just triggered in the details bar. I took a break from djing and now coming back to it. I thought I was able to do this before, but forgot how

yur2die4
Posts: 6408
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: APC 40 mkii (show clip currently playing)

Post by yur2die4 » Tue Nov 24, 2015 12:07 am


junqueira
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 6:02 am
Contact:

Re: APC 40 mkii (show clip currently playing)

Post by junqueira » Tue Nov 24, 2015 1:33 am

lol! Same problem in a different way

yur2die4
Posts: 6408
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: APC 40 mkii (show clip currently playing)

Post by yur2die4 » Tue Nov 24, 2015 2:17 am

Hopefully that was enough of a hint to suggest that you turn on select clip on launch :)

junqueira
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 6:02 am
Contact:

Re: APC 40 mkii (show clip currently playing)

Post by junqueira » Tue Nov 24, 2015 3:28 am

yur2die4 wrote:Hopefully that was enough of a hint to suggest that you turn on select clip on launch :)
Yea, but now I have a dilemma...I want the Clip On Launch feature to be enable for regular clips, but disabled for Dummy tracks :/ Any workaround for this?

yur2die4
Posts: 6408
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: APC 40 mkii (show clip currently playing)

Post by yur2die4 » Tue Nov 24, 2015 3:43 am

Best I can think of is turning off select clip on launch,
But assigning a button to each clip indicator.

There is one on each channel, it's above the Send knobs. Shows up as a pie chart for loops, or a progress bar for unlooped clips.

If you map that to a button, it should make your 'Currently Playing' clip show up on the screen.

Edit: I think it's called the track status field https://www.ableton.com/en/manual/sessi ... tus-fields

19oclock
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:40 pm

Re: APC 40 mkii (show clip currently playing)

Post by 19oclock » Mon Dec 07, 2015 5:59 pm

I have something like what you are looking for in my MKII DJ template. All for free to download here: http://drewreges.com/?page_id=12

I setup the track select buttons for each of my four DJ decks to bring up the currently playing clip for view. This way with several different decks playing, I can bring up the playing clip when I select the deck with the MKII. Hope this helps? Otherwise the guts are plain to view and maybe you can tweak the code to suit your needs.

Post Reply