Total newbie: Mixing/mixdown during writing

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
mwlad17

Total newbie: Mixing/mixdown during writing

Post by mwlad17 » Tue Nov 24, 2015 5:39 pm

So I literally got Ableton Live 9 (Intro) about 2 months ago, I've always loved music, played for 10 years through high school was decently good, state/region bands, etc...and I've always loved creating music, always been into the EDM stuff since I was young but never knew how to go about "creating"...friend introduced me to Ableton, and I've just written some very basic stuff, remixed a pop song that I thought sounded decent, etc and I absolutely love creating stuff (pharmacist by day, this creative process uses a whole different part of my brain lol)...my big question today, is when I am writing/remixing, should I be really focused on track volumes/mixing in general while I'm doing that? I don't wanna clip anything on the master (yes, I'm just learning all these new terms lol), and I've seen articles about putting a limiter/compressor on the master, about NOT doing that, what peaks I should be looking for on the master, etc...just would like some general tips (and if anyone has any other tips in general by all means)

also, had a few friends listen to some tracks/mixes and they all really liked them, didn't notice much in the way of audio issues, again, not pro's but a couple do play in bands and use some DAW's...thank you guys!

Tarekith

Re: Total newbie: Mixing/mixdown during writing

Post by Tarekith » Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:29 pm