How to give more life to my stabs

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
TechnoLover

How to give more life to my stabs

Post by TechnoLover » Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:11 pm

Hi everyone,

As you may have noticed it with my nickname, I am a techno producer ! :)

I would like to give more life to some of my tracks which are mostly based on some stabs.

The perfect example of what I am looking for is the legendary "Groove La Chord" from Aril Brikha !
( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uM2It3WbXGk )

I've tried to work it around with a LFO (on Ableton's "Auto Filter") but It still too linear... So if anyone got some technique or some times to achieve it, it would be really helpful !

I also plan to buy a few new FXs (VSTs) so feel free to advice me on some filters/phasers/whatever :)

Thank you in advance!

mholloway

Re: How to give more life to my stabs

Post by mholloway » Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:31 pm

Rather than buying more FX, I'd recommend simply working on learning how to create more dynamics in your mix using the tools that Ableton already offers. People resort to spending $$ on fancy toys before ever really understanding the magnificent FX devices already inside Live. They are fantastic! In my work, I use Live's Native FX for probably 90% or more of my FX processing, including both standard mixing (like EQ and Comp) as well as special FX. The only place I regularly outsource to 3rd party is Reverb.

When you then start using Clip Envelopes / Automation to keep the FX parameters moving (there's way more to do than the auto filter LFO !!) you'll find its a genuine rabbit hole....no end in sight.

Just spend a day with Filter Delay and see how much you can accomplish!

/2cents
-Michael
my industrial music made with Ableton Live (as DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER): https://deadwhenifoundher.bandcamp.com/
my dark jazz / noir music made with Ableton Live: https://michaelarthurholloway.bandcamp. ... guilt-noir

sana48

Post by sana48 » Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:41 pm