record directly in sampler

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
hade0011
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:14 pm

record directly in sampler

Post by hade0011 » Mon Feb 22, 2016 2:43 pm

hi,

is it possible to record audio directly in sampler? I'd like to use this in a live situation so i can record a sound and play it on a midi keyboard.

yur2die4
Posts: 6424
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: record directly in sampler

Post by yur2die4 » Mon Feb 22, 2016 2:49 pm

Currently that is not a feature in Live.

Maschine can do things like that

hade0011
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:14 pm

Re: record directly in sampler

Post by hade0011 » Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:27 pm

thanks. is there a plugin sampler which can do that? I've only found the muxer plugin, but it won't let me play the sample as a melody.

joeyfivecents
Posts: 544
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:18 am
Location: Augusta, GA USA
Contact:

Re: record directly in sampler

Post by joeyfivecents » Mon Feb 22, 2016 5:11 pm

fxpansion Geist can do this and it's on sale right now I think. If you're on Windows, Image Line's Directwave Sampler also records. Isn't weird that all of these "samplers" in all the major DAWs don't actually sample?
iMac, MacBook Pro, Live Suite, Reason, Logic Pro, Melodyne, FL Studio, iConnect Audio4+, Little Martin, ukelele, Fender Jaguar, pedalboard, amps, mics .
http://www.soundcloud.com/gradynickel

hade0011
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:14 pm

Re: record directly in sampler

Post by hade0011 » Mon Feb 22, 2016 10:26 pm

Thanks, Thats what i was Looking for.

overflow1
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2015 12:29 am

Re: record directly in sampler

Post by overflow1 » Mon Feb 22, 2016 11:56 pm

Isn't this exact the new work flow for Push 2?


Like this?

https://www.ableton.com/en/push/sampling/

second video down?

or this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JjQeQgKURWY

but with a mic instead of vinyl?

hade0011
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:14 pm

Re: record directly in sampler

Post by hade0011 » Tue Feb 23, 2016 7:19 am

push 2 looks really neat, but I'd like to sample on the fly while performing and play the new sample as an instrument, without having to stop the music. basically I want to build my own version of Tim Exile's flow machine:

https://youtu.be/d8w6q4JCRjA

ned rush
Posts: 401
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:45 pm
Contact:

Re: record directly in sampler

Post by ned rush » Tue Feb 23, 2016 3:52 pm

This is what Max For Live was designed for.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=f7WhTZd9iiY

yur2die4
Posts: 6424
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: record directly in sampler

Post by yur2die4 » Tue Feb 23, 2016 5:03 pm

Ohhhh boy. Always wondered how this could be done. Closest I could get (since I know zilch about using max) was to kinda use Henke's Granulator.

The basic patch you've laid out is perfect. It looks like there is plenty of room for personal customization also. Cheers!

hade0011
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:14 pm

Re: record directly in sampler

Post by hade0011 » Tue Feb 23, 2016 7:42 pm

Ned, thanks for the Video. Great stuff!

Muze
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 6:01 am

Re: record directly in sampler

Post by Muze » Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:16 pm


jlgrimes
Posts: 1277
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 1:55 am
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Re: record directly in sampler

Post by jlgrimes » Wed Feb 24, 2016 2:14 pm

hade0011 wrote:hi,

is it possible to record audio directly in sampler? I'd like to use this in a live situation so i can record a sound and play it on a midi keyboard.

Live has some tricks up its sleeve.

Like others mentioned there are VSTs that does this but some other options:

1. Record to audio clip. from there getting to Sampler/Simpler is a simple drag/drop. As you said though it might not be what you want for live situations but I find it faster than about any other sampler I've worked with in the studio.

2. Record to audio clip in Session View. Session View clips can be triggered from midi keyboard also triggerable based off of a key range and can transpose up and down like a sampler. That said I'm sure it probably isn't as editable as a normal sampler.

3. Record to audio clip, right click and there are chopping options. There might be a preset that doesn't really chop your audio but sends whole file to sampler.




You might need the dedicated VSTis (or Max Instruments) based off of your needs but I just wanted to make sure you knew some of the standard workarounds before you invested your money.

ned rush
Posts: 401
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:45 pm
Contact:

Re: record directly in sampler

Post by ned rush » Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:52 pm

Yeah. Don't rule out recording straight into the session view into audio clips.

Personally I think this is the most flexible way. With a bit of routing, you can record onto as many tracks as you want into clips, then mix, and even resample.

I made a video about this too. This is best suited to vocal loopers and live loopers in general.

https://youtu.be/N8aH2MNqSPk

hade0011
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:14 pm

Re: record directly in sampler

Post by hade0011 » Fri Feb 26, 2016 9:58 am

Thanks for the Info and the Video. I think i'll try to get as far as possible with These Methode First before buying max for live

Post Reply