"Mastering" at home, the chain, limiting

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
mwlad17

"Mastering" at home, the chain, limiting

Post by mwlad17 » Sun Mar 13, 2016 3:21 pm

So let's be honest, a lot of us are just "bedroom producers" having fun making our own music, I know I personally am doing the "mastering" at home before I post/"finish" a song...now granted I'm a super newb, and only have 2 songs posted, but you can (or at least I can) tell the second one is miles better than the first, that's just with better kick samples, one or two synths, etc...my question concerns limiting, as I read on forums and countless posts about "NEVER USE IT TO MAKE A MIX LOUD" but here's the thing...when I'm writing/mixing (kinda do it all in one process) I'm always careful to make sure my track is peaking at about -2 to -3 db, then my extremely EXTREMELY simple mastering chain I know, is a glue compressor, some slight EQ, then the limiter...from what I hear on multiple sources, multiple outputs, headphones/car speakers/even the iphone, the limiter isn't "destroying" my original sound at all...it literally is just making it slightly louder, i.e. at least comparable to "pro" stuff...it's EDM, yes I want it loud, there is dynamic range with some filtering, volume control, sidechaining, etc...I watch the limiter as the track plays too, and it never even comes close to like -6 gain reduction (that apparently a lot people do???) I just have the gain set to basically to a little below the headroom I left...is this completely wrong? I just am not hearing any of these "crackles" or anything like that people talk about...if they're there, that's just part of my white noise on an oscillator of a soft synth...am I just not skilled enough/not experienced enough to understand this, or am I actually using the limiter in a "tasteful" way? my first mix I'll admit, not very good, but the ideas were there...second was MUCH better, and this third one I'm working on is my favorite yet...I just