Is software expensive ?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Riff Valley

Is software expensive ?

Post by Riff Valley » Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:02 pm

I finally got a sensible response from Ableton sales confirming that the educational price is 249 euros (dollars) - a great price indeed for a first time buyer.

I was wondering however, if I had bought v1.00 and then purchased all the upgrades to and including Live 5 how much I might have spent in total.

I guess it would add up to quite a lot.

I began ask myself a question : is software expensive ?

I suppose if I was a pro DJ making loads of money from Live then it would be cheap, on the other hand, if I was a casual user that used the software periodically then it would be expensive.

Really, when you buy into Live or any software that is being developed, you are supporting that development which obviously costs quite a lot of money.

When you buy hardware, however, you might only update every three years for example.

It's an interesting question and I might discuss with my students next term (I teach electronics and computing for my sins).

Cheers.

braj

Post by braj » Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:24 pm

I think if you consider what it would cost for comparable hardware, software is a steal. And more flexible overall.

Riff Valley

Post by Riff Valley » Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:38 pm

Good point braj, don't forget that Live needs very expensive hardware to run on !

Can I just point out that I am not actually saying Live is expensive, merely posing a question to stimulate debate.

cheers

anonymouse

Post by anonymouse » Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:46 pm

software IS expensive.

Music software in partiular is bleeding many people of their hardearned cash and it is not really offering them any tools they can profit from.