Start next clip via midi controller?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Scherer
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 8:20 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Start next clip via midi controller?

Post by Scherer » Wed Apr 06, 2016 8:08 am

Hi,

for djaying with Live I'm looking for a smart solution to "browse" through all clips I have on a track. I know that Push and APCs can do this, but both units are very big. I'd love to use something smaller and I don't want to touch a mouse while playing.

Is there any possibility to jump from one clip to another via controller?

Thanks,
Marco

chapelier fou
Posts: 4915
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Start next clip via midi controller?

Post by chapelier fou » Wed Apr 06, 2016 11:24 am

Hit ctrl+M and look in the down part of the scene area
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Scherer
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 8:20 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Start next clip via midi controller?

Post by Scherer » Wed Apr 06, 2016 1:52 pm

chapelier fou wrote:Hit ctrl+M and look in the down part of the scene area
Na, that doesn't help. Sorry I didn't explain properly: I have 2 tracks with loads of clips each. I would want to select the clips individually via controller, not whole scenes.

So if track 1 is playing a clip I want to choose clips on track 2 and vice versa. Same as djaying.

sonik777
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 1:53 am
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Re: Start next clip via midi controller?

Post by sonik777 » Wed Apr 06, 2016 2:17 pm

You're looking to select the clips without playing them right?

Scherer
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 8:20 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Start next clip via midi controller?

Post by Scherer » Wed Apr 06, 2016 2:22 pm

sonik777 wrote:You're looking to select the clips without playing them right?
Not exactly. I want to be able to choose/play one clip of a track while a clip on the other track is playing. As I don't want to use the mouse I need to be able to browse/skip the clips one by one. But I couldn't find a "play previous/next clip" function (for individual tracks) as it exists for scenes.

North63
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 9:56 am

Re: Start next clip via midi controller?

Post by North63 » Wed Apr 06, 2016 3:36 pm

Is Keyboard mode an option?

Scherer
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 8:20 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Start next clip via midi controller?

Post by Scherer » Wed Apr 06, 2016 3:53 pm

North63 wrote:Is Keyboard mode an option?
You mean selecting tracks via shortcuts? Not really, as it's too many tracks. Perfect would be a simple "previous/next" clip function.

sonik777
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 1:53 am
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Re: Start next clip via midi controller?

Post by sonik777 » Wed Apr 06, 2016 3:58 pm

Well there are Follow Actions. Click the L in the clip info section and you'll see the various options.

You could also get a Launchpad for manually launching clips with ease.

Scherer
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 8:20 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Start next clip via midi controller?

Post by Scherer » Wed Apr 06, 2016 4:02 pm

sonik777 wrote:Well there are Follow Actions. Click the L in the clip info section and you'll see the various options.
You could also get a Launchpad for manually launching clips with ease.
I need to skip tracks manually (like selecting tracks when djaying), so follow actions won't help here.

Launchpad: Yes, this or Push or APCs could help. I hoped to find a solution without using extra gear :)

chapelier fou
Posts: 4915
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Start next clip via midi controller?

Post by chapelier fou » Wed Apr 06, 2016 4:18 pm

Ok. If you have M4L this is easily coded.
I guess clyphX must do this as well. (what doesn't it do ?)
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

S4racen
Posts: 5171
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Start next clip via midi controller?

Post by S4racen » Wed Apr 06, 2016 6:17 pm

You'll need to map the up and down button for the scenes, this will highlight the clips you want... Then a button to the play symbol for each track...

It can't be done with a very simple MIDI controller if you don't want to invest much, if budget is an issue look at the Novation LaunchControl...

Cheers
D

Scherer
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 8:20 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Start next clip via midi controller?

Post by Scherer » Wed Apr 06, 2016 6:26 pm

S4racen wrote:You'll need to map the up and down button for the scenes, this will highlight the clips you want... Then a button to the play symbol for each track...
Aaaah, PERFECT! That's what I was looking for. Thanks a dozen times!

Scherer
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 8:20 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Start next clip via midi controller?

Post by Scherer » Wed Apr 06, 2016 7:40 pm

Btw: The scene up/down arrows were mentioned before yet. But I thought that these arrows to start the next/previous scene. Didn't know that it's just a selector. So sorry for disclaiming these tipps!

chapelier fou
Posts: 4915
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Start next clip via midi controller?

Post by chapelier fou » Wed Apr 06, 2016 8:52 pm

no worries.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Post Reply