fx send on clip

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
insch
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 6:19 pm

fx send on clip

Post by insch » Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:24 pm

I would like to set up some fx sends on individual audio clips. I can see how to send a whole channel to an fx channel but I don't want to have all the clips on that channel having fx added. Can anyone advise on the best way forward to do it clip by clip.

Thanks

slatepipe
Posts: 1931
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: stoke newington in london
Contact:

Re: fx send on clip

Post by slatepipe » Fri Apr 15, 2016 2:43 pm

in the clip view, open up the envelopes bit (the little letter E in the bottom right) then in the second dropdown there is the returns, select the return you want and draw it in

xbitz
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:19 am

Re: fx send on clip

Post by xbitz » Fri Apr 15, 2016 4:40 pm


insch
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 6:19 pm

Re: fx send on clip

Post by insch » Fri Apr 15, 2016 5:25 pm

Thanks. Took me a little while to work out how to add the effect but then discovered Shift-tab!

insch
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 6:19 pm

Re: fx send on clip

Post by insch » Sat Apr 16, 2016 5:58 pm

Rather than draw the fx in I just dropped my fx into where it says 'Drop Audio Effects Here' (after Shift-Tab) and then tweaked it. But it looks like it's adding those fx to other clips on the same track. Am I approaching this in the wrong way?

Thanks

insch
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 6:19 pm

Re: fx send on clip

Post by insch » Sun Apr 17, 2016 11:29 am

Anybody got any ideas where I might be going wrong here?

outsidesys
Posts: 400
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 2:26 am

Re: fx send on clip

Post by outsidesys » Sun Apr 17, 2016 4:53 pm

Ableton Live does not do per-clip FX.

Put FX on the return tracks and automate the send knobs for each track needing an effect.
Put FX on a clip's track and automate the power button on the FX device, or wet/dry mix if it has it.
Record the clip with FX to a new audio track and use it instead.
Use an Effect Rack with multiple chains, and automate each chain's volume or mute.

insch
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 6:19 pm

Re: fx send on clip

Post by insch » Sun Apr 17, 2016 5:06 pm

Thanks. Just to clarify, I can create automation within a clip to turn fx on and off on that channel?

tone61
Posts: 376
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 5:09 am

Re: fx send on clip

Post by tone61 » Sun Apr 17, 2016 8:51 pm

It's also possible to group several effects and then automate the group's on/off.
Easier than switching effects individually.

insch
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 6:19 pm

Re: fx send on clip

Post by insch » Sun Apr 17, 2016 10:17 pm

Thanks. That's really helpful.

slatepipe
Posts: 1931
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: stoke newington in london
Contact:

Re: fx send on clip

Post by slatepipe » Mon Apr 18, 2016 1:33 pm

insch wrote:Thanks. Just to clarify, I can create automation within a clip to turn fx on and off on that channel?
yes, if you are using an effect on a return, go the the effect section of the clip view and automate the amount of send. or if you have the effect on the same channel as the clip, go to the effect section and automate the on/off button for the effect

insch
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 6:19 pm

Re: fx send on clip

Post by insch » Mon Apr 18, 2016 1:35 pm

That all makes sense - thanks.

Post Reply