Ableton Live & Quicktime?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
ShelLuser
Posts: 3572
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands

Ableton Live & Quicktime?

Post by ShelLuser » Fri Apr 15, 2016 3:22 pm

Hi gang!

First of all I have to admit that I haven't kept close track of all changes in Live 9, but as far as I know Ableton Live still depends on Quicktime to be installed.

Just today did I read an article on an IT website (The Register) which states that Quicktime has more or less reached its EOL (End Of Lifecycle) and will no longer be updated by Apple. Basically they're "deprecating support" and security updates will no longer be applied. Which can be a big issue. See the article here.

Obvious question: will Live remain dependent on Quicktime or are there other solutions being planned for all this?
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the Big Trio: Live 9 Suite, Max5 / M4l and Reason 6.5.
Blog: SynthFan

steko
Posts: 3347
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:29 pm

Re: Ableton Live & Quicktime?

Post by steko » Fri Apr 15, 2016 4:09 pm

OP should mention it's only QuickTime for Windows that will no longer be updated by Apple - QuickTime on OSX is not affected.


https://www.ableton.com/de/help/search/?query=QuickTime

-> https://www.ableton.com/en/help/article ... uirements/ (For Live 9 nothing about QuickTime - QuickTime recommended for Live 8 & older)

-> https://www.ableton.com/en/help/article ... -and-live/ (old info for Live 8 & older???)
Rahad Jackson wrote:My Awesome Mix Tape #6

pinkpaint
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 3:14 am

Re: Ableton Live & Quicktime?

Post by pinkpaint » Fri Apr 15, 2016 6:03 pm

just get a pc that can run 64 bit.. live 10 may only be 64 bit.


"The 64-bit version of Live does not utilize QuickTime. When running a 64-bit version of Live installing QuickTime is not required. On Windows machines it might be necessary to install 3rd party codecs when importing compressed audio files or video files into Live, as well as exporting video."

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: Ableton Live & Quicktime?

Post by pencilrocket » Sat Apr 16, 2016 6:11 am

Live 10 will only run on OSX. So it will be fine
Image

Post Reply