Just starting.Thoughts on the gear I got?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
FreeHouseCleaning

Just starting.Thoughts on the gear I got?

Post by FreeHouseCleaning » Fri Apr 29, 2016 4:48 pm

Hey guys,
So I have been wanting to do this for a LONG time. I am a complete beginner.
I had about 300$ to spend. Although I ended up going 50$ over. I am just curious if There is anything you think i should return/replace/or dont need.
I bought the things I did because of the deals I got on them and what I thought would use.
One: I got the Launchkey 25 mkii because I really thought I would want to learn and play some keyboard.
Picked it up new for 100$

Two: I got my hands on a new Akai MPD 32 for only 90$. I wanted something that would simulate the drum rack in ableton and also be able to customize effects.

Three: I got a brand new bundle that when it came out I believe was around 700$. Its an Ableton EDM Bundle.
It comes with:
Akai APC20 controller
Full version of Ableton Live 8 (Also Full upgrade to Live 9 free)

Free instructional course
Dubspot 30 | 30 Lesson Series

And some exta plugin software:
Stutter Edit
LFOTOOL
Electronica and Dubstep Collection
Wobble
Action Pack
I picked this up unopened/new for 150(168 after shipping costs)

I really didn't plan on spending that much money to start but I got the bundle because I really liked the idea of getting the full version of Ableton 9
I was a little worried about the APC20 and thats what I wanted the most input on. Should I sell it and get a Launchpad? Or what? Or is it worth keeping?

I love dance and house and that's what I want to produce for fun.

Thank you!

login

Re: Just starting.Thoughts on the gear I got?

Post by login » Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:00 pm

Well, first I think you should have asked before buying, but anyway:

25 keys is not enough to learn to play keys, 49 is the minimun. You can't even use both hands on 25 keys.