mixing within scenes?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
yentzee
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:54 am

mixing within scenes?

Post by yentzee » Tue Jun 21, 2016 7:15 pm

Hi!
I was just wondering whether it makes sense to mix within new scenes.
Lets say I have a groove going add rides etc and then cut the rides and add a breakbeat or so. As soon as the breakbeat comes in I would like some other elements to be less loud.
Usually I was trying to sort that out while arranging but as the whole mixer can be automated I thought I might just capture the scene and "mix" within the new scene. So I could have several scenes for different parts of my song that contain the mixing already.
Is this a good thing to do? Everybody seems to do that while arranging but I thought this might me much more easy as I can then just put scenes after each other and program drops etc. to lead one scene into another.
If so what would be the best way to do this? Ideally I would just twist knobs and once I change the scene the knobs jump back to normal.
Is there any command which allows me to "record" all settings the scene has and record all changes I make in the new scene?
I tried capture but this doesn't work properly and makes my setup lag.

irrelevance
Posts: 463
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 7:31 pm

Re: mixing within scenes?

Post by irrelevance » Wed Jun 22, 2016 7:54 am

Im fairly sure that clyphx can record all automation within the clip and launch with the new scene without lag. So somthing to investigate.
Otherwise, i see this as a more general but highly farmiliar scenario for computer producers of 'commiting to the take' for want of a better phrase.
In other words if you are happy with your levels,pan,sends etc that you should bounce that down to audio ie commit and move on. So your problem/solution becomes infinitely less complex than any other alternative.

yentzee
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:54 am

Re: mixing within scenes?

Post by yentzee » Wed Jun 22, 2016 8:34 am

I will check clyphx (?) out.
Hmm yes bouncing to audio...
I am using hardware and want to be able to add cutoff modulation later on, also I find myself in need to change one or the other note later on.
But yeah you are probably right. Bouncing also might keep me from fiddling around and finish stuff instead of getting annoyed by it...

irrelevance
Posts: 463
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 7:31 pm

Re: mixing within scenes?

Post by irrelevance » Wed Jun 22, 2016 10:55 am

Plenty of clyphx related stuff on the boards to show how useful it can be. I dont use a lot but for the more esoteric solutions. Just save all the presets you can before bounce so if you need to recall later you can.

irrelevance
Posts: 463
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 7:31 pm

Re: mixing within scenes?

Post by irrelevance » Wed Jun 22, 2016 11:14 am

Cool upside of imperfect recall are those happy accidents leading to new musical ideas 8)

borg
Posts: 871
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 3:44 pm
Location: antwerp, be

Re: mixing within scenes?

Post by borg » Wed Jun 22, 2016 1:28 pm

Hi,

Just saw your post on Subsekt, and was going to advice ClyphX as well, although I quit using that long time ago because of the "100 ms lag". Was it the non optimized API? can't remember... Has that changed?
andy
2015 MBP, OSX 10.12, Live 10.1 64bit, RME Fireface 800

yentzee
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:54 am

Re: mixing within scenes?

Post by yentzee » Wed Jun 22, 2016 6:52 pm

thanks i am going to have a look into it. seems a bit open source like.

Post Reply