Native Instruments just ripped off Push big-time, ha!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
mholloway
Posts: 1572
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 7:24 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Contact:

Native Instruments just ripped off Push big-time, ha!

Post by mholloway » Thu Sep 08, 2016 3:37 pm

see for yourself...

"MASCHINE JAM is the modern digital instrument – your shortest avenue from inspiration to reality."

Hmm, sounds familiar...<cough>PUSH<cough>

https://www.native-instruments.com/en/p ... chine-jam/
my industrial music made with Ableton Live (as DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER): https://deadwhenifoundher.bandcamp.com/
my dark jazz / noir music made with Ableton Live: https://michaelarthurholloway.bandcamp. ... guilt-noir

InLight-Tone
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:55 pm

Re: Native Instruments just ripped off Push big-time, ha!

Post by InLight-Tone » Thu Sep 08, 2016 3:59 pm

Pretty cool, no velocity sensitivity on the pads plus they are pretty small looking....

ark
Posts: 1348
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments just ripped off Push big-time, ha!

Post by ark » Thu Sep 08, 2016 4:39 pm

InLight-Tone wrote:Pretty cool, no velocity sensitivity on the pads plus they are pretty small looking....
So they ripped off APC40, not Push.

mothergarage
Posts: 454
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 7:41 am
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments just ripped off Push big-time, ha!

Post by mothergarage » Thu Sep 08, 2016 4:54 pm

could be interesting anyway
Ableton integration

For Ableton Live users, you can actually work with nearly all of the Jam workflows with Ableton as the host and even ignore Maschine software, if you so choose. Maybe you do that all the time, maybe just for a particular project – or maybe you switch as you work, which is also possible. In that case, here’s how things translate:

The step sequencer controls drum racks
Touch strips control mixing: level, panning, send effects all with visual feedback (meaning this becomes a competitor to things like Novation’s LaunchControl, potentially)
Keyboard mode works with instruments and the like as usual
The grid launches, creates, mutes, and delete clips (with color feedback)
via cdm
home | sound | twitter | m4l
Windows 10 64bit - Live 10.0.1 - M4L 8 - RME Babyface/iConnectAUDIO4+

koranek
Posts: 459
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 3:51 am
Location: You got to be somewhere

Re: Native Instruments just ripped off Push big-time, ha!

Post by koranek » Thu Sep 08, 2016 5:36 pm

Plus this seems to rely a lot on touch strips. Nobody seems to have gotten this right yet, including Push. It's just too easy to get weird unmusical jumps in continuity. If you had a modwheel or fader that acted like that, you take the hardware back, because you'd think it was broken. I avoid using Push's touch strip. And that's why I've avoided the Komplete Kontrol keyboard.
Licensed Counselor
johnkoranekcounseling.com
https://soundcloud.com/johnkoranek

Mac Pro 3.33 Ghz 6 core Xeon, 32 G ram, OS 10.12.6
Push 2
Novation Impulse
iConnectAudio 2+, iConnectMidi 4+
Live 10 Sweet

garyboozy
Posts: 2585
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments just ripped off Push big-time, ha!

Post by garyboozy » Thu Sep 08, 2016 6:06 pm

koranek wrote:Plus this seems to rely a lot on touch strips. Nobody seems to have gotten this right yet, including Push. It's just too easy to get weird unmusical jumps in continuity.
Push 1's strip was no problem for me - it just had pretty much zero functionality (mapping, fader control etc.)
Push 2's strip is pretty much useless, jumps and skips all day long like you say - and still has pretty much zero functionality.

i really can't see NI messing this up too. looks like an interesting unit. we'll see.

muthafunka
Posts: 2233
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 5:28 pm
Location: Tokyo
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments just ripped off Push big-time, ha!

Post by muthafunka » Thu Sep 08, 2016 10:31 pm

Maschine software caves my dome in....

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Native Instruments just ripped off Push big-time, ha!

Post by Stromkraft » Fri Sep 09, 2016 7:30 am

garyboozy wrote: Push 1's strip was no problem for me - it just had pretty much zero functionality (mapping, fader control etc.)
Modulation baby. I've had no skips myself using that. Also in PXT Live it controls the last selected parameter.

I do agree it could have been made a lot more nifty though.
Make some music!

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Native Instruments just ripped off Push big-time, ha!

Post by Stromkraft » Fri Sep 09, 2016 7:34 am

mholloway wrote:

Hmm, sounds familiar...<cough>PUSH<cough>
I don't know, but this is how Rounik Sethi at ask.audio feel about this:
"…there will be the inevitable comparisons for Maschine JAM to the Ableton Push and the Akai Pro APC40. For me, Maschine JAM is completely different from Push and I've never tried the APC40 for more than a few minutes so I can't comment."
-> First Look Video: NI Maschine JAM

In addition, personally I'm not that fond of the Maschine sequencer functionality, but I guess if you like that this can be an interesting product.
Make some music!

login
Posts: 1816
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: Native Instruments just ripped off Push big-time, ha!

Post by login » Fri Sep 09, 2016 5:23 pm

Maschine JAm seems exactly the middle point between Push and an APC

S4racen
Posts: 5207
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments just ripped off Push big-time, ha!

Post by S4racen » Fri Sep 09, 2016 5:37 pm

I've ordered two...

Cheers
D

mholloway
Posts: 1572
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 7:24 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Contact:

Re: Native Instruments just ripped off Push big-time, ha!

Post by mholloway » Fri Sep 09, 2016 11:42 pm

S4racen wrote:I've ordered two...

Cheers
D
Wanna send me 800 bucks? I'll happily flush it down my toilet for you.
my industrial music made with Ableton Live (as DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER): https://deadwhenifoundher.bandcamp.com/
my dark jazz / noir music made with Ableton Live: https://michaelarthurholloway.bandcamp. ... guilt-noir

sana48
Posts: 417
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:16 am

Re: Native Instruments just ripped off Push big-time, ha!

Post by sana48 » Sat Sep 10, 2016 1:48 am

is there any functional novelty in this?

in other news: here is a hamster in an inner-tube


Image

Dillinger63
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 3:12 am

Re: Native Instruments just ripped off Push big-time, ha!

Post by Dillinger63 » Sat Sep 10, 2016 2:33 am

More of a performance controller like the APC but it does integrate with other Maschine's, which is slick.

http://www.synthtopia.com/content/2016/ ... ce-system/


Even so, I'll stick with my Push 2.

InLight-Tone
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:55 pm

Re: Native Instruments just ripped off Push big-time, ha!

Post by InLight-Tone » Sat Sep 10, 2016 4:03 am

Come on Abes, do a half push, mixer strip thingy like this to run side by side with Push 2 with even MORE integration...

BUT, please address the arrangement view...(with either/or device)...

Post Reply