Database crash + re-scan -- I am alone in this ??

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Angstrom
Posts: 14679
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Database crash + re-scan -- I am alone in this ??

Post by Angstrom » Sun Oct 02, 2016 4:59 pm

I am now imagining your songs folder is titled something like ...

MySongs'); DROP TABLE meta_keys;--

;-)

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Database crash + re-scan -- I am alone in this ??

Post by Stromkraft » Sun Oct 02, 2016 6:54 pm

steko wrote:Maybe one of your indexed directories/folders is corrupted, or contains (a) corrupted file(s. A tool like DiskWarrior would come in handy now…
While this certainly is possible, corrupted files on the file system level is actually extremely rare since OS X 10.5.

Naturally, the index process could itself have corrupted some database records on the database level or be inconsistent.
Make some music!

steko
Posts: 3354
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:29 pm

Re: Database crash + re-scan -- I am alone in this ??

Post by steko » Sun Oct 02, 2016 8:54 pm

Stromkraft wrote:While this certainly is possible, corrupted files on the file system level is actually extremely rare since OS X 10.5.
That's why only mholloway is having this...
Stromkraft wrote:Naturally, the index process could itself have corrupted some database records on the database level or be inconsistent.
Of course - but if it still happens after deleting "files.db"?
Rahad Jackson wrote:My Awesome Mix Tape #6

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Database crash + re-scan -- I am alone in this ??

Post by Stromkraft » Sun Oct 02, 2016 9:10 pm

steko wrote:
Stromkraft wrote:While this certainly is possible, corrupted files on the file system level is actually extremely rare since OS X 10.5.
That's why only mholloway is having this...
As I said, that's possible. I'd sooner suspect hardware about to give up than actual file system errors on a fully working disk though. That being said, there's obviously nothing wrong with running Disk Warrior or similar if one owns it.
steko wrote: if it still happens after deleting "files.db"?
If some process for some reason is writing erroneous data to the db, that may be recreated during use or attempts to rebuild the db.

The best way to find out if it's a disk problem would be to boot from another disk with the same user library on it and otherwise as closely structured as the the main disk as possible.
Make some music!

steko
Posts: 3354
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:29 pm

Re: Database crash + re-scan -- I am alone in this ??

Post by steko » Mon Oct 03, 2016 5:16 pm

1.I don't think it's a disk/hardware problem - the problem was already there on an older machine.

2. Corrupted files would get carried over to a clone, right?
Rahad Jackson wrote:My Awesome Mix Tape #6

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: Database crash + re-scan -- I am alone in this ??

Post by pencilrocket » Tue Oct 04, 2016 12:51 am

Will 10 get database of database and scan database to create database to solve this?
Image

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Database crash + re-scan -- I am alone in this ??

Post by Stromkraft » Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:41 am

steko wrote: 2. Corrupted files would get carried over to a clone, right?
I wasn't thinking clone, but a rebuild. I actually had some corrupt Live presets just the other day and those crashed Live, which is a rare thing for me.
Make some music!

aklisiewicz
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 3:33 am

Re: Database crash + re-scan -- I am alone in this ??

Post by aklisiewicz » Mon Jun 05, 2017 12:18 am

I have similar issues. I'm not sure yet but it seems to happen when Live crashes. Recently it crashes almost on a daily basis.
"You are what you think you are"
Sadarahu

tintala
Posts: 459
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:37 pm

Re: Database crash + re-scan -- I am alone in this ??

Post by tintala » Mon Jun 05, 2017 9:54 pm

yes I have and posted it here, didnt you find my post about losing my DB ? I contacted support and cant recall, but I restarted live and somehow got it back

randycolby
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 10:59 pm

Re: Database crash + re-scan -- I am alone in this ??

Post by randycolby » Mon Jan 01, 2018 9:22 pm

Same problem on Win 10, Live 64 Suite here. I am getting sick of waiting for database to rebuild.

tintala
Posts: 459
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:37 pm

Re: Database crash + re-scan -- I am alone in this ??

Post by tintala » Tue Jan 02, 2018 7:14 pm

just yesterday my database crashed,Ive had this before but this time live gave me a different error. I had to re add my main library back into my database. Not sure if this is the same thing. It didnt rescan automatically , it wouldnt even scan.

w- 7 pro 64 bit
32 gb
i7 core 4.4

Post Reply