32 bit and 64 bit VST plugins on Mac

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
YellowNoiseAudio
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 11:19 am
Location: France
Contact:

32 bit and 64 bit VST plugins on Mac

Post by YellowNoiseAudio » Fri Oct 07, 2016 3:33 pm

Hi,
On Mac, the usual path for VST plugins seems to be:

/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST/

But then, how to distinguish 32-bit from 64-bit VST plugins? They seem to be installed in the same place.

Even if it's unlikely, a user might have an old DAW in 32-bit, and another one in 64-bit, and thus, he might be interested to use both 32 and 64-bit plugins. What's the usual way of dealing with this?

Thank you in advance.

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: 32 bit and 64 bit VST plugins on Mac

Post by Stromkraft » Fri Oct 07, 2016 3:45 pm

YellowNoiseAudio wrote:Hi,
On Mac, the usual path for VST plugins seems to be:

/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST/

But then, how to distinguish 32-bit from 64-bit VST plugins? They seem to be installed in the same place.

Even if it's unlikely, a user might have an old DAW in 32-bit, and another one in 64-bit, and thus, he might be interested to use both 32 and 64-bit plugins. What's the usual way of dealing with this?

Thank you in advance.
I've put old plug-ins, tests and seldom used ones in the custom VST folder, which can be turned on when needed.

The obvious choice would be to use a bridging solution. I've deemed a bridge as too much fuss myself.
Make some music!

lovelight
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:01 pm
Contact:

Re: 32 bit and 64 bit VST plugins on Mac

Post by lovelight » Fri Oct 07, 2016 4:39 pm

J bridge is quite good working with 32 and 64 bit vst/vsti

link to j bridge for Mac : https://jstuff.wordpress.com/jbridgem/


https://www.facebook.com/AbletonPushVstRacks/

Post Reply