Hybrid 3 VST Air Music Techn. causing problems in Live 9.7

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Wolkenhauer
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:09 pm
Contact:

Hybrid 3 VST Air Music Techn. causing problems in Live 9.7

Post by Wolkenhauer » Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:36 pm

My CPU load (in the Mac Activity monitor) went up quite high after the 9.7 update (over 100% for an empty template). It appears that this is related to the Air Hybrid 3 VST synth - even if I don't use this at all. I could resolve the problem by resetting Live but upon a rescan for VSTs when it hits upon Hybrid 3 it crashes Live. I then had to remove the VST and its components in the VST folders to solve the problem.

mholloway
Posts: 1572
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 7:24 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Contact:

Re: Hybrid 3 VST Air Music Techn. causing problems in Live 9.7

Post by mholloway » Sat Oct 22, 2016 7:22 pm

It's running fine on my iMac fwiw, so this may be a windows specific issue.
my industrial music made with Ableton Live (as DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER): https://deadwhenifoundher.bandcamp.com/
my dark jazz / noir music made with Ableton Live: https://michaelarthurholloway.bandcamp. ... guilt-noir

Wolkenhauer
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Hybrid 3 VST Air Music Techn. causing problems in Live 9.7

Post by Wolkenhauer » Mon Oct 24, 2016 12:04 pm

I am running Live 9.7 on a MacBook Pro (late 2013) with OS Sierra.

I could solve my problems with the removal of Hybrid 3. (It causes a fatal error and crash, but only once one knows that it could cause the problem). Since I never used the plugin, such problems are difficult to solve. I wrote this to help others. Maybe I should have named the topic different, referring to CPU performance only, because one does often initially not know what the cause could be.

Best, Olaf

sporkles
Posts: 3188
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Re: Hybrid 3 VST Air Music Techn. causing problems in Live 9.7

Post by sporkles » Mon Oct 24, 2016 3:35 pm

I have Hybrid 3 in my VST directory, and Live 9.7 launches fine in Windows 10; I haven't actually used Hybrid since upgrading to Live 9.7, but definitely no crash on startup.

vksf01
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 5:22 pm
Location: san francisco
Contact:

Re: Hybrid 3 VST Air Music Techn. causing problems in Live 9.7

Post by vksf01 » Mon Oct 24, 2016 4:46 pm

I'm running Hybrid 3 on Windows 7/64 bit and have no problems here

mholloway
Posts: 1572
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 7:24 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Contact:

Re: Hybrid 3 VST Air Music Techn. causing problems in Live 9.7

Post by mholloway » Wed Oct 26, 2016 3:43 pm

The assertion that a synth you aren't using in your sessions is somehow causing your CPU increase is.... highly suspect.
my industrial music made with Ableton Live (as DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER): https://deadwhenifoundher.bandcamp.com/
my dark jazz / noir music made with Ableton Live: https://michaelarthurholloway.bandcamp. ... guilt-noir

Post Reply