ShowDeviceSlots (Options.txt) and Live 9.7

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
YellowNoiseAudio
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 11:19 am
Location: France
Contact:

ShowDeviceSlots (Options.txt) and Live 9.7

Post by YellowNoiseAudio » Fri Dec 02, 2016 7:56 am

Hi,
When using this in Options.txt:

Code: Select all

-ShowDeviceSlots
I have the following issue: some devices have their names displayed (see on the right), but some others have no name display, which seems like a small bug? Is it?

Image

Thanks in advance if you have an idea.

Best,

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: ShowDeviceSlots (Options.txt) and Live 9.7

Post by Stromkraft » Fri Dec 02, 2016 8:51 am

There's a reason this feature isn't on by default. Probably the name is too long or something like that. What happens if you widen the track?
Make some music!

YellowNoiseAudio
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 11:19 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: ShowDeviceSlots (Options.txt) and Live 9.7

Post by YellowNoiseAudio » Fri Dec 02, 2016 10:19 am

You're right, making the track wider, and then back to narrow solves it: suddenly the title appears. It's a very small UI bug.

Image

Angstrom
Posts: 14771
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: ShowDeviceSlots (Options.txt) and Live 9.7

Post by Angstrom » Fri Dec 02, 2016 1:24 pm

show device slots is a legacy function, one that didn't make it into the finished software because the strategy was not what they wanted.
Don't expect it to hang around forever.

soundfx
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 3:40 pm

Re: ShowDeviceSlots (Options.txt) and Live 9.7

Post by soundfx » Sun Feb 19, 2017 3:41 pm

I think this is really usefull... maybe they can rethink 'strategy'.

harleytat
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 7:16 pm

Re: ShowDeviceSlots (Options.txt) and Live 9.7

Post by harleytat » Thu Sep 17, 2020 3:58 pm

I'd also love to see more development of this (hidden) feature. It's one of only a few reasons why I still go to Pro Tools for large mixing projects.

Post Reply