Windows 7 -- Interface DPC latency issue - ACPI.sys driver

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
dylanbjohnson

Windows 7 -- Interface DPC latency issue - ACPI.sys driver

Post by dylanbjohnson » Tue Dec 13, 2016 6:10 pm

Hi all,

I'm a newb at computer-based music production.

I started having an issue with my Focusrite 2i2 being unable to process audio. All of the sudden, audio sounds terrible in Ableton.

Spoke with Focusrite tech support. Ran LatencyMon.

The ACPI.sys driver seems to be the culprit, and I need some assistance remedying the approximate 4.6ms execution time of the driver.

Everything seems to be up to date on my HP dv6 7014nr. (HP Pavilion dv6-7014nr Entertainment Notebook PC Product Specifications | HP® Customer Support)

From Focusrite chats:

“There seems to be (1) real problem driver, which is the ACPI.sys driver, which looks to be related to power management. I really think that at this stage speaking with HP will be the proper next course of action to figure out the power management issues with your PC.”

So they said to “tell them the ACPI.sys driver seems to be the culprit, and I need some assistance remedying the approximate 4.6ms execution time of the driver.”

Finally: “ACPI.sys = This issue occurs typically on laptops. This can be difficult, sometimes impossible to solve. This driver is for ACPI on your motherboard which controls different power modes. First disable any sleep settings on your PC and do normal PC optimization. In some cases disabling the ACPI Battery from within device manager also helps. This may disable the ability for the PC to charge the battery on a laptop--- -- from Sweetwater's DPC solutions page.”

Any ideas here on how to fix this issue? HP charges $60 to call tech support. I really, really appreciate any help here. I really want to get back to making music.

Stromkraft

Re: Windows 7 -- Interface DPC latency issue - ACPI.sys driver

Post by Stromkraft » Tue Dec 13, 2016 7:36 pm