All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Operator and Analog: CLICK CLICK CLICK
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 9:34 pm 

Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 5:29 pm
Posts: 7
Hello!

I've been trying to make a simple bass in both Operator and Analog, and for some reason, both are clicking hysterically on my current midi arrangement.
I spent the last hour messing with the ASDRb (I immediately assumed it was the attack), glide, length of the midi notes on the grid, phase, and still no luck. It is an extremely simple midi arrangement as well. I've also tried different buffer sizes, and it still happens at the highest setting. I'm on a Macbook Pro with 16g of RAM and a fast CPU. I'm on the latest build of Live Suite (9.7.1).

To make sure I wasn't going insane, I threw in Serum, and BOOM. No clicking! Only when I put the attack crazy low (sub 20ms), did it click.

:cry: ... Any help would be appreciated!!!

Dylan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Operator and Analog: CLICK CLICK CLICK
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:06 pm 

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Posts: 6284
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Are you using a compressor or limiter on the channel or on be master channel?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Operator and Analog: CLICK CLICK CLICK
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:22 pm 

Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 5:29 pm
Posts: 7
I'm not! This is on a brand new project, nothing on master and nothing going to the sends.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Operator and Analog: CLICK CLICK CLICK
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:24 pm 

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Posts: 6284
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Does this happen with all Operator and Analog patches, or only your new ones?

You mentioned replacing with other vsts. So I was curious if this is applying to all presets, or maybe something specific about your initialized patches. Do you have the filters off?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Operator and Analog: CLICK CLICK CLICK
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:37 pm 

Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 5:29 pm
Posts: 7
Great question. I just tried a bunch of bass presets and pretty much all of them clicked, with the exception of Hip-Hop Sub Bass. That was clean! Once I started raising the release on it however (from 0 to about 25ms, via the macro), it started clicking again. THEN... I put it back on 0 so it didn't click, and turned off the EQ8 that's on the preset. BOOM... clicking again.

Thinking that was somehow the issue, I took that exact EQ8 and put it on my default preset of Operator... the clicking was back. Confused as ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Operator and Analog: CLICK CLICK CLICK
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:33 am 

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am
Posts: 7055
dylst wrote:
Hello!

I've been trying to make a simple bass in both Operator and Analog, and for some reason, both are clicking hysterically on my current midi arrangement.

That's not exact enough to understand if this is clicking within the realm of sound design or a problem with Live itself. You have compression on? Sudden envelopes?

Why do you want to use Operator and Analog when you have Serum?

_________________
Make some music!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Operator and Analog: CLICK CLICK CLICK
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 2:37 pm 

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 12:03 am
Posts: 189
what are your latency settings?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Operator and Analog: CLICK CLICK CLICK
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 2:44 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Posts: 14494
On Operator activate the R buttons on the oscillators, and make sure all the phases are 0.
In the main section set the R (retrigger) on also
a waveform starting at a non-zero position is a click.

If the bass patch isn't polyphonic - on the pitch tab activate the glide and set it to the lowest value.
a new note starting part-way though an old note will cause an abrupt transition in phase and cause a click. glide helps resolve that.

_________________
Angstromnoises site | FB artist page | Instagram


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Operator and Analog: CLICK CLICK CLICK
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:39 pm 

Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 5:29 pm
Posts: 7
Angstrom: Thanks for the pointers. I went through all those steps and the problem still persists. I tried playing with the phase settings, toggled the re-triggers, turned on glide and set it to .10ms (tried higher values), made sure it was only using 1 voice, etc. Same problem... so weird.

Braduro: I'm at 2048 samples, https://cl.ly/3C3S3G0J3r2W

Stromkraft: This is on an empty project with only an Operator added. I could just use Serum for everything, but I'd like to use Operator or Analog for very simple things (it's a lot more lightweight).

Sigh. I might try installing the latest beta to see if something there resolves it (but I'd rather not).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Operator and Analog: CLICK CLICK CLICK
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 6:30 pm 

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Posts: 6284
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
We might have to actually hear it to get an idea of what kind of clicking and the characteristic of it. If it is at starts, ends of notes, whether it is sharp or muffled, etc.

It'd be funny if it was your system making it click and it not existing in the software


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Operator and Analog: CLICK CLICK CLICK
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 11:45 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am
Posts: 7055
dylst wrote:
AI might try installing the latest beta to see if something there resolves it (but I'd rather not).


There's nothing later than 9.7.1 currently.

_________________
Make some music!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Operator and Analog: CLICK CLICK CLICK
PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 4:58 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 4:53 pm
Posts: 1
It happened to me too the clicking sound on a sub bass with operator. There was a EQ3 on the master with a on/off automation that made a little 50hz drop... if it can help someone.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Operator and Analog: CLICK CLICK CLICK
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 1:10 am 

Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:30 am
Posts: 80
Location: New Zealand
Try shortening the length of the midi notes

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/dubxile


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Operator and Analog: CLICK CLICK CLICK
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 2:25 am 

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am
Posts: 7055
dubxile wrote:
Try shortening the length of the midi notes

Because…?

_________________
Make some music!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Operator and Analog: CLICK CLICK CLICK
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 9:31 am 

Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:30 am
Posts: 80
Location: New Zealand
Stromkraft wrote:
dubxile wrote:
Try shortening the length of the midi notes

Because…?

if the notes are consecutive maybe the release is being abruptly cut off by the next note triggering. I'm not really sure
i just always leave a small gap between notes now and no clicks
sample with operator 1 sine voices changed to 1 no asdr adjusted
https://soundcloud.com/dubxile/sine-bass-click-sample
first loop gap between notes second loop notes begin and end on the grid


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group