making live behave like a synth with changing presets

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
ciw
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: Cardiff, UK

making live behave like a synth with changing presets

Post by ciw » Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:43 pm

Man it's years since I've been on here!

I've just started using live again as a sort of live synth. One thing I've never found a good way to do in live is to remotely select presets like a synth would. When I say preset I mean a synth + bunch of effects, not necessarily within a single plugin.

The closest I've ever got is to line up each "preset" I want as a chain within a single rack then use chain select to choose between them remotely. This can be fiddly if trying to select between many presets with a single knob.

It would be lovely if the remote sl control assigned to chain select could update its name to show the name of the chain currently selected. Is there a way to do this?

Or is there a better way to achieve all of the above?

Pitch Black
Posts: 6451
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: making live behave like a synth with changing presets

Post by Pitch Black » Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:50 pm

On my Remote SL Mk2, I assign some of the programmable buttons to send a pre-defined CC value which is assigned to the Chain Selector.
e.g, if my Chain Selector is assigned to CC#9, each button is pre-programmed to send a set CC#9 walue when pressed.
Each button is pre-named in the Remote's LCD with the name of the instrument/patch/song.

So, it's not "updating" as such, but in use it works: see patch name in LCD next to button - press button - get that patch.
RMBP i7 2.8GHz | OSX 10.14.6 | Live10.1.15 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

Tagor
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:18 am

Re: making live behave like a synth with changing presets

Post by Tagor » Fri Jan 13, 2017 1:22 am

Image

Tarekith
Posts: 17628
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: making live behave like a synth with changing presets

Post by Tarekith » Fri Jan 13, 2017 7:11 am

Tagor wrote:Image
How did you do that?

ciw
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: Cardiff, UK

Re: making live behave like a synth with changing presets

Post by ciw » Fri Jan 13, 2017 10:29 am

@Pitch Black - sounds cool but only works for 8 patches right?

@Tagor - that does look nice, though I'm not using omnisphere and my hardware doesn't look like that either, but is there a way to generalize whatever you're doing to racks and remote sl?

Tagor
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:18 am

Re: making live behave like a synth with changing presets

Post by Tagor » Sat Jan 14, 2017 3:25 pm


Tarekith
Posts: 17628
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: making live behave like a synth with changing presets

Post by Tarekith » Sat Jan 14, 2017 4:13 pm

Thanks! I didn't realize you could still browse Omni's library from Push's display.

Angstrom
Posts: 14722
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: making live behave like a synth with changing presets

Post by Angstrom » Sat Jan 14, 2017 9:30 pm

I use this Max device. It takes program changes and maps them to a rack chain.
It wasn't made for public consumption but I use it all the time. So it not "finished", I intend to make it a bit more user friendly but the user is me. so .. meh.

You can flip presets with your hardware controllers alpha dial or preset buttons, just like a normal synth. There's a limit of 128 presets.

How to use:
  1. create an instrument rack and drag your "presets" into this rack.
  2. for each preset make the chain selector as pictured below - each preset gets a unique "step" in the chain selector
  3. create a MIDI m4l device and paste the blow text in. then flip it to presentation mode
  4. ARM the track - important
Now you can change "presets" with your hardware controller MIDI patch change buttons, or external sequencer, etc.

Image

Final notes. when you first make it, before you save it, it make not act correctly - hence the "update" button. but in normal cases dragging it onto a track with a rack of presets will work just fine.

Code: Select all

----------begin_max5_patcher----------
3841.3oc6cr0iqZi94oR8+.JpusSivWv.8gUs6Es6J0UpZ2tOUUEQRXRnk.Q
.Y54zpc+su19ygXH.wvfyL8bN5nCYr4l+t5ua17ae9m8vh04uKtbgyW47CNO
7vuw64AYehdd3bGOr3Pz61jFUJuvEYw+R95eZwipyUE+tJY+o4QaWGksq9LI
ak8yu3ujPp68XT0l8IY6VUDuoBdyHFao6iNdX4QOwQr6RWme778jepJMtp58
GigaXg78b47kUuOUdpE0ulrSGRx32jbLiz5EdVP2xd+ue9mI9k+yiliCNcXc
bQWPJlV2K+NRNb5f7Mg8G.9CHgRHODszi+CQh.H5H.Nrb9Q41KRYwiSGwbLp
H5PbUbwp3rn0v8T+ldJOqpL4WkchDiNs9y32l7E7MEIQoK5FQimNhtOlsjmi
WxQk6cp1mTtZa7yIahc1DkkmkrIJcEGdhypbf9KcPN0.XoSXWzMj+PbngRv1
wmIoPDJRRhvCxiJHGx+OAxg.y9TzlAHC3IPFH1iLzIJcPgdESOyGKY589DF0
NL1glvWiBD+7I95FTgh3C4Uw+utPpdCgT88b0TVDvtVc9svW3YSya8cTF8b7
1U7wNeXtJpppHY8oJXp+GtfcdXwpibNojxp3rlTI9S3Pddk.TkcuzE5Wg0mD
1+PbYYzt3qQ+6xqxMi++Kts..0DsPDPwN12DAfWJgbJ73nYmG+XzO63531ol
6g4uCjFpQQdRM2tVDkM+5JlNdbS9gCbVuqQje2278+4+dWnwfAU8xj7ZHZn.
Kh.ieuoZhiEwk7AQTURdVaKa6xrNsKW2faJU9t8YRMT9W+pafmoSQwy7im+2
wobHHdqy+JZyO2os23gmqSBs.hFE5eGw2XoLBeRVAkFg+cF596D3xNw2tFfu
CHRnNjdO4uYKwAd9XziNb5r30SIuoP58pS1Q7hyepZe7l8QIYcpbdP0JLeIi
MCztDxLvY5YvQ5FCHtiwssp3ojz3mEFVzjp9vhniG05+A8aRfx9ob4y5ryyf
mvPejK8UvMF3pGM+YWvQNUbLyoB.ldGq1V.wSJeabQ1ojKyJ.DwyCMcbpT70
ELUfJEloA5HUNAeWZ9leNdaSalxOFmkj0lo9x42F+TzozpU8LsVyKn8jgMOa
2brOrXWQx17Lw.oIlWz+4WIWhQ5+k3nFLIujrnicc6fkj8c1RNvdpbcTgfvn
Bm.t9rU44oMO2k6LM9oJ04Oljk0FgVkebfyVjra+P285b9YOL3iWdpxUmxfS
uhKxVsRX7bqKLJMUID25M7tnrjCQUwUI.8.6d4rPrU1WtoHOMsIbCm54tNEX
q6ujrk6lMX5s1o32PxwyLVKtP12lrKtrpUmUQ6Ja000R779NsVIHupJ9vwTN
zz5JZD1vFBs5p9ZdhAUA1TMXUd46OrNOswYanBjc0MtIOETL7CbLTPXfKI7w
N+KjNOdOZQ8XKI9dByZIZQmvs8cNfpz9Pt8pR85ojzHzcOsjyeJOcaim75cZ
nAoy7MNzbz0kgw5tz8P8jZyOEtf+likS10OM1+9PiQgJ85lRiebRzY7aD5L9
tRmqbV6zuXLCMLIFQ7wddO14eYDIFr61Elw1aoTj91TXHKF+tVZ99RkkgKCr
HneZM9FhyjPLh8Xm+0nDm8gzHEZOU1uUDkavrci.70h1dcf9tn+WmkY1XeZE
quVw6KtZ34BXDKOW.nnfHMz2i96DVmA3F1UDsMQ3Vut0oWwtwQRL+Ga8yU3q
063tukJusUmg9Kuf9tR4QzTeOxi3y2MKPp5W+mae2muYbnKJTpNg3xYInvew
6BcimBeV.kmK9sHN5W0wh7i4E0t1sjyx02y6TUdC5xR+vYWNSxp0qbj2BiDD
.WbI0Gme4.WC4iOGcJ4Sa1QVvasWrk+BCmyg3JcSnOD1nMbn6b3XLBQyE9zj
rdcTSBPhKnGTUY9ohMmow0lj6zB33tfVkjUGaiePyCs1W59jsaiytBj1lTJ7
8c6kPpYDMdBCelwCe+2didwbfFN5E1Z8la3iMm24sH1GYN1m7Fc3iLm4A81Z
36YNxGMqHemerNM2iMS5iL1b6RyWGkph6VskeCGntKwyyhIiOuZe2k5FZvzs
4QjlQ6G.QVl0QVuFYlHLK2PXyyMDBxPE1+VIGRqxKrcV4GthpPCl5GvmWlzU
h6SEU8JU1NySgiHyvF+uvcVgOrAQ0PzB87fxFw8CvxFQxHJQrmexOGcQuz0m
sgaFCpY.ggrRx8xvSjoxk9J4Qh6sYVub9Zh9+43VQFJp6uHJqL4rRB7TyrbG
ED6MSyOgAkzQukwa91lkyRqf10bJl54VFZVlmiROEm+TGYO8BDjlmsqeJWiK
sbO2WVCu1yjFbWm7.mYRhyz7btAREplYNYkCAh4rE+h08jTeTcLNdaZxgFUd
1kYpeIS60md3FAttoN3AKnLrZhNnrVIxilTL6ygRX2gTPzH7Q1u9rGXw.fFt
vfo9RkpphSxpKGf4A6gr.yWpCpyh4cvpTGqB.Ay0XdOAeWhHbBe3v58G5A0M
3D5DLTHzgLiQciCsgeqyyccFYaTJitlf8bk3sNxj5MmL+Ni9letNtIAGiy15
DcT7SWnP+PSPgXY8pEDXo5150l6qWK22jFG0oWl9CVtaTkg3AfbKcdQauYDZ
OcfavTmXmKZ0RphO.W8+HqrpPbKUMKU1AX6XLnLIAKy0KCrEQoo4+x1hncCu
5yDpCMxaxYvPb2a6iuHKFDcu68l0R+zF9t1JInMHyTCHhLnTx89PUHXzlpyF
zZIBM.BWhbYL3iL0NyOzrT+5Z2nANzDylX9vRAI7sMm2KdsPYwnrlr04K5zt
UlmALwpkNLg7Qln+YqtJqxK5TwIaPWMIfAChZ4VnBv+CTit5C68qoNbiFJb5
N.nHSb0LPFqKp2GvV7OfHam3sAi8I1ktDKi5Iwbez+.Rfcin516BqMrbJTVJ
dPfM7BMLvFyV1MlLBjN1obhOrtQBIsQnMAO8u3jvei2ww+Bjuj+Yx1j+5SOw
Gk589Mm1ljeU20OYQpb2jeBpJERWT2AMeUrvZj1sB07HT+lThMHuzYl7ZIZi
75V0my.DeS1LUfRRJ7iRMyBWotANjZ.NjRkqXy.uOBcnpj+uNsGkfMvt.paf
wZpqcp5w2.gildu8uhfLgQTsIo7I+qdY5UUI+uS5fqIl6RkzA+OZUpN.BzaP
+TwHHpTP9UXeroQ8FJAPglv7gc+jR.KWdPcRbXCmue0dlDERZM8iQN6dqWMp
InNOWs8QF26S8pMYLHY92nMxx4SMwYLKiSe5qb3hC6iNV57kNUmJxbRx32GG
u4HQfa1yMVJtj2K+5E2W4Rmueebly2xICBtYGgXGmEO9viNQYacJhOlF8dYG
NOUjeP7XphKxJ+iN4qeNI+TY564WzWxefw7qsfqiWds64sV1sCddcQnGb1yf
ya1JRBMBRtoHwcu3MdB24WGguW26IRCuCVJhfnOhRwbWtT69WKo3.OufWn1f
4onWEYFRM7P9Rix6c7MWJL3Z6qx6bCLAObhvckrGHLnbfd93Kp7elqswGIeb
fLYGcMxlKb2So4h5iqKbWPOaunWzm0klVXHCazS2Z+Ec4KcGFsWj8S4EGhjC
I17myWUwWFnuojYTEc+JtKldHYaR2axO3aTnWfLB5xh0aVKVIzcqrO5L0C3g
CFLCKCgNnmkXKWIrsgSBZeobK1x4qkV.Dkl570a16fb95i6NzcvWvHCXKnv1
UT.ZLFT8XcEbz6OuX9m.qfD4ufNQUCGxYHndDHmezNx72c1tR26nxEjQnFHy
x1T6hc7oAFHMW4qJLY6Ed1Y74UK3rvlq.wdVrYdMWqYcrNyDDgi4bzS4YITo
wWDkroVKs20UKKsN4JLGVXl.Kh8s7wAKDH4kAXnBDPx3RzrkGvJE.wQW150F
NasTBmG3jByD6CUggrk8fSQo3da3TTsoSBN8gR5Quk8fk1ixdfE1TgEvNP8V
VDVBrCrP8IvnuAcwytzEijkBmLcIDqCKgXqBKTSfE1TgEluNrHaYOXgYz7R9
iWWtmrryYfOTmgEQKKCKHinKnQIu.kS.iEBV3gqa8ZSWP3oRWfBrxCpnYYKK
BKFI62dVHykWBaviEZWdLOij88mJcA1Km0aYQXgXjMojQCK.WkGT6+Duv5V1
CV7LyVsQaeMClqzKTsIHGT2xhvhQ7XnQaOlZuGk.eaNN6qfnkEgEilqzaz5w
PH0drI.KHhbqXT1zx.CxB.ib6.60.XvyOvfg3remAFiTkwFuqZJkWA5pkksr
HrfsiZ4ZRQ.E1Uw.InFs7fUG8Yv1yp1EzNZGcCnD7DiIB00SSOmrk8fEiTyg
FMMSEnCFrDrzaYOPgXVnpniWKGjIELr+8nBnC1pjEhQzEBZhvB0WUgwWZYQX
gXGWnUidLPWvH0meG8VTURQf5qnUqfPMEHMacWcK2L7CNXh3GUM5Ae5FZzPE
6UnxnsanWkJCu4j1rwO2.rbcoLUj5I0srLrbaYS5TU+iC0kMwgVGVPFomYTg
d.CwnixTFSAvByp1RQLaZY+opyDjSzaYQXwnPaG5O0ztvH5tRwHu9vhevKDV
fk5dyVzy4AFzKPrJ+G1nvdOZS4U5mUynoB.VyV9Tkxcnfln9u9fINbhvIBIg
EBB9bUgdC.KxLkglNMK.CKtQjUy5B1HyewiOSsTesUT8kFVDRLx3W5T8IAom
JVFxp5wwlMmzn4u.x.DXesFVFPHyuQpDth5Pw1PJpFbTgrTuwczRUCAzQSxz
AT+.s5JoQCUPMB7kQ7Hvp9KiLJkyD2oNuLEqaiA0p9PgBLNsSihpwfsSIFTh
c5srHrXVJAFu+E9tP45BasQZsrHrXXPAGuy+DvL7gbvGbJTkIDK6Tng.JZ7g
RSAoXHTtmodMZg7UQz.U2xlPpcnnpZFxC9zybN+UDqZ+GxrveNcYM0VtErQd
JaYQfgXTVdFqJv.HDKJeLBvr6fOFHyHLdi2YJEk.9H7RTeAha1RIgAIcz15G
QFkZN4T0iyBQ0Z0W80FFVpKxV1DXH1Q0fRw18U0fY.CZp.y43UqTTXWeCQHi
3xFs06mMHBbNTukEgEibyczyx5FRgnIEp9DGeooYvhpZqa8cbVBFs+9M29a2
bGe2lG3a17UeulkiA9g+OpptF8B
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------


Tagor
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:18 am

Re: making live behave like a synth with changing presets

Post by Tagor » Sat Jan 14, 2017 9:40 pm

looks interesting

so i need to load 128 instances of the plugin ?

Angstrom
Posts: 14722
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: making live behave like a synth with changing presets

Post by Angstrom » Sat Jan 14, 2017 9:56 pm

well, I use this with Live native devices , Live racks filled with Operators / Samplers / etc -
it's not really made for flipping the presets of a nested VST. It could work (by embedding 128 instances) but really I don't recommend that.

I've not tried passing the program changes from Max to a racked VST, but I bet Ableton's weird midi implementation will scramble that plan.

Perhaps you need a different solution.

Tagor
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:18 am

Re: making live behave like a synth with changing presets

Post by Tagor » Sun Jan 15, 2017 9:00 pm


Post Reply