Video Issue: "..could not be read ..." HELP!!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Th3P3t3
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 11:56 pm

Re: Video Issue: "..could not be read ..." HELP!!

Post by Th3P3t3 » Sat May 30, 2020 11:59 pm

pottering wrote:
Sat May 30, 2020 11:37 pm
1- The Matroska (Haali) demuxer supposedly already comes with K-Lite already, so I always skipped it. Took me a while to try installing something that was already installed with K-Lite. But yeah, you got to install it after K-lite, even though the codec pack already installs it. The one inside K-Lite doesn't work for some reason.

2- The Nvidia driver offers 2 options named "integrated", one is simply "Integrated", another is something like "Auto (Integrated)". It is gotta be "Integrated", the Auto one doesn't work.
Thanks! This solved my issue on Win 10 x64!

Conrtist
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2015 2:13 am

Re: Video Issue: "..could not be read ..." HELP!!

Post by Conrtist » Thu Jun 18, 2020 8:50 pm

Clexxx wrote:
Mon Mar 30, 2020 2:44 pm

If everything fails I#ll try out a plugin called VidPlayVst
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vIGnReGz_XE
Y'all, I haven't participated in an online forum in years. I signed in and responded just to thank this user for the incredible suggestion.
This VST is a game changer for my business... It bypasses all of Ableton's extremely messy video integration for Windows AND you can embed the SMPTE timecode into the video you're scoring to... Best 25ish dollars I've spent in years.

Thank you again for this suggested plugin.

Tone Deft
Posts: 24154
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Re: Video Issue: "..could not be read ..." HELP!!

Post by Tone Deft » Thu Jun 18, 2020 9:38 pm

I still say that Ableton are sweeping video under the rug. :evil:

very cool you found a solution.

I just want to mess around with video... :? I've searched the forums and talked/posted about it with people, seems it's hit or miss on PC. we all seem to agree on the matruska drivers and internal vs external video processing etc. but alas... :cry:
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

Hunterwolf
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 3:11 pm

Re: Video Issue: "..could not be read ..." HELP!!

Post by Hunterwolf » Sat Jun 27, 2020 10:43 am

no solution worked with me ... luckily I was suggested an external VST (Vidplay) and I am afraid I will have to switch to that until I go back to Cubase or Ableton will fix this horrible bug.
Very weird that it is not possible to have a video player running in a software that includes technologies such as Max and Jitter.
Extremely EXTREMELY disappointed Suite user.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2323
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Video Issue: "..could not be read ..." HELP!!

Post by [jur] » Mon Jul 06, 2020 11:52 am

Please always report to support@ableton.com as we need more data to fix this.
Ableton Forum Moderator

Mr. Mayhem
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2020 5:35 pm

Re: Video Issue: "..could not be read ..." HELP!!

Post by Mr. Mayhem » Wed Sep 09, 2020 5:36 pm

After so many days of trying to do this. I finally solved mine! I used Handbrake to convert video files to .avi. Just use the .mp4 container and rename file extensions to .avi! So happy it works finally able to score the shortfilm I am working on. :D :D

AngryOwl
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2020 1:00 am

Re: Video Issue: "..could not be read ..." HELP!!

Post by AngryOwl » Mon Oct 26, 2020 1:01 am

Dave Human wrote:
Mon Mar 09, 2020 8:09 pm
If anyone's still struggling with this, all I had to do was install the Haali media splitter and bingo!
https://haali.su/mkv/

Basically, I followed the advice in this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gn0-19IZYns
This worked for me after trying everything before this. Thank you!

chris vine
Posts: 691
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 2:01 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Video Issue: "..could not be read ..." HELP!!

Post by chris vine » Mon Oct 26, 2020 1:14 pm

Another item to note. With my aging system, video files won't import immediately to the timeline. After I click on them in the browser, it takes a minute for Live to read them, draw a waveform etc and only then it is possible to drag the clip into the arrange page. So if anyone is getting frustrated with video clips not getting recognised, give it a minute. Hope that helps.

Yes, Haali media splitter worked for me too as well as integrated graphics. In fact, I get CPU spikes when using Nvidia graphics, so now I only use integrated.

Win 7, second gen i7, SSD, 16GB RAM.

Post Reply