s(M)exoscope 64 bit does not show up in plugins.

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Ali_K_Muse
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 3:26 pm

s(M)exoscope 64 bit does not show up in plugins.

Post by Ali_K_Muse » Tue Jan 17, 2017 3:53 pm

Hi, Recently I download latest release of s(m)exoscope that is 64 bit version then i unzip it and copy the folder that includes DLL file into my custom plugin folder , where my other plugins are but after rescan, ableton does not recognize it. I am at Windows 7 64bit. ableton suite 9.5 64bit full, everything works fine but this issue.
I really love to use this plug in and not the alternates.
Maybe I did not install it correctly but i couldn't find anything about installing this.

You can find this free vst here:

http://armandomontanez.com/smexoscope/

thanks

Ali_K_Muse
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 3:26 pm

Re: s(M)exoscope 64 bit does not show up in plugins.

Post by Ali_K_Muse » Tue Jan 17, 2017 4:09 pm

I Copy The "Windows" folder to my custome plugin folder and problem solved. :)

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: s(M)exoscope 64 bit does not show up in plugins.

Post by Stromkraft » Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:08 pm

Ali_K_Muse wrote:Hi, Recently I download latest release of s(m)exoscope that is 64 bit version then i unzip it and copy the folder that includes DLL file into my custom plugin folder , where my other plugins are but after rescan, ableton does not recognize it. I am at Windows 7 64bit. ableton suite 9.5 64bit full, everything works fine but this issue.
I really love to use this plug in and not the alternates.
Maybe I did not install it correctly but i couldn't find anything about installing this.

You can find this free vst here:

http://armandomontanez.com/smexoscope/

thanks
This may be because of insufficient permissions of the standard VST folder.
Make some music!

spip72
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 9:22 am

Re: s(M)exoscope 64 bit does not show up in plugins.

Post by spip72 » Sun Aug 27, 2017 3:23 pm

Copying the entire "windows" folder to plugins also solved it in my case. Thanks for sharing the tip :)

LOYBOY
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:35 pm

Re: s(M)exoscope 64 bit does not show up in plugins.

Post by LOYBOY » Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:28 am

Hey I'm having the same issue, only I don't know what you guys are talking about with a "windows" folder. I'm on Ableton Live 9 64 bit. I'm in Windows 10.

I'm clicking on the download link titled "windows" found on this page.

http://bram.smartelectronix.com/plugins.php?id=4

This prompts an automatic download of a compressed zip file called

s(m)exoscope_20040403

Then I unzip the folder. ( I tried unzipping it in downloads and in the plugin folder, neither worked)

Inside the zipped folder are 4 files.

Docs
readme
smex.dll
smexmod.dll

Docs just has graphics in it and a link to the usage instructions which I've read.
Readme has nothing helpful about this situation.
And the .dll's are obviously the VST's.

Nothing I do to, makes them appear when I rescan the folders in Ableton's preferences. I've tried moving other .dll's there and they show up fine.

Is this plugin only 32 bit? Is that why it isn't showing up?

I tried shortcuts, I tried copying the whole unzipped file and unzipping it in the plugin location.
I tried everything I can think of.

LOYBOY
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:35 pm

Re: s(M)exoscope 64 bit does not show up in plugins.

Post by LOYBOY » Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:31 am

Nevermind, I was downloading the plugin from the wrong link... not sure why there are 2 websites but it's working now!

cotdagoo
Posts: 1041
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: canuhduh

Re: s(M)exoscope 64 bit does not show up in plugins.

Post by cotdagoo » Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:09 pm

The original author of the plugin has recompiled a bunch of his stuff for 64bit, and there's also a dark themed version of s(m)exoscope available. I prefer the darker GUI personally.

source: https://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=6800954

https://dl.bintray.com/bdejong/Plugins/

The other benefit to using this recompile from the Bram is that Armando's version doesn't address is the "UniqueID" of the 32bit version - so any older projects created with the 32bit version will display an error when it can't find a VST with the right UniqueID. If you use Bram's new version, it has the exact same UniqueID string embedded and Live will load the 64bit version of s(m)exoscope on any older projects saved with the original 32bit version.

I had asked Armando about addressing this on reddit, but so far he has not changed the UniqueID since he released his version.

Post Reply