Launch quantization problems

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
graphixsounds
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 9:02 pm

Launch quantization problems

Post by graphixsounds » Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:43 pm

I'm using ableton for my performances and cueing up stemmed out (4-7) tracks at various tempos, for some reason when I change scenes at a new tempo the loops associated with that take an extremely long time to change over. is there something im missing?

every time I change a scene that will adjust the tempo there is a long delay for the loops to understand its time to change tracks, the tempo will change before the new loops start playing.

anyone encounter this problem and if so is there some kind of workaround?

Thanks

chapelier fou
Posts: 5112
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Launch quantization problems

Post by chapelier fou » Sat Feb 04, 2017 3:59 am

Probably because of the global quantisation ?
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

graphixsounds
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 9:02 pm

Re: Launch quantization problems

Post by graphixsounds » Sat Feb 04, 2017 5:59 am

ive tried changing it to various short quantization and it has no affects on when the loops change over, tempo changes before the loops change, if that makes sense

chapelier fou
Posts: 5112
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Launch quantization problems

Post by chapelier fou » Sat Feb 04, 2017 9:55 am

Maybe your clips are set to their own launch quantization, instead of "Global".
See in the "L" (Launch) clip tab in the bottom left corner of the screen when the clip is selected. Section 13.3 in the manual.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

graphixsounds
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 9:02 pm

Re: Launch quantization problems

Post by graphixsounds » Sat Feb 04, 2017 5:21 pm

cool i think i got it!

thanks

Post Reply