Having drums multi-mapped to the same midi controller?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
ryanoliver

Having drums multi-mapped to the same midi controller?

Post by ryanoliver » Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:56 pm

I'm working on a live set and I'm basically new to Ableton.

I've watched in live performances before myself how throughout the transition of songs in the set, the girl will press the same midi pads on her keyboard and in each song, different drum samples will sound out. they automatically play the correct drum samples for the song she is performing without even looking at her laptop.

Does anyone know how you go about that? I have just started a drum rack to put my drum samples in. :?:

arretx

Re: Having drums multi-mapped to the same midi controller?

Post by arretx » Wed Jul 26, 2017 2:47 pm

Yes. Follow closely.

1. Create a new live set.
2. Drop a drum rack on a track.
3. Select the C-2 pad. (or whichever pad you choose.)
4. Drop the Sampler into "Drop and Instrument or Sample Here"next to the drum pads in the Device
5. Click the Zone toggle triangle on the top of the Sampler.
6. In the blank space next to the keys, drop 3 different kick drum samples.
7. Trigger the pad and you'll notice that ALL 3 sounds fire off. You need to isolate them to independent chains.
8. In the Sampler, click the [Sel] button next to the C-2 key where you just dropped the samples.
9. Select all 3 samples at the same time, right click, and "Distribute Ranges Equally."
10. Resize each blue chain zones so they're as small as you can make them.
11. Position the chain zones in slot 0, 1, and 2 on the chain selector. Each sample has it's own zone.
12. On the Drum rack, click "Show/Hide Macro Controls" (circular arrow icon.)
13. Click the [Map] button above Macro 3 knob.
14. In the Sampler Zones, click somewhere on the Green Bar that appears along the chain selector above the chain zones.