I'm new to Ableton

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
pgiovanni

I'm new to Ableton

Post by pgiovanni » Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:10 am

Hey everyone. I could use some help with the basics of ableton. I just bought a focusrite interface and it came with the software. I'm used to garageband. As of now, garageband seems a lot more user friendly and simplistic. Only problem is I don't have a mac anymore I have a pc, and this is the software my interface came with.

I've already set up the interface and recorded using my microphone, but how do I edit tracks? How do a segment, and then record another segment, so that they seem like they are one segment when it's really two segments next to each other. Right now all I'm able to do is record multiple segments and they all play at the same time.

How do I find midi instruments? I want to find a live drum set so I can create a rock band feel.

I'd appreciate the knowledge. I'd really like to get to recording and create full pieces! Not just segments that all play at the same time.

Thank you!

miyaru

Re: I'm new to Ableton

Post by miyaru » Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:55 am

Hello,

Go to the arrangement view. |||| is the session view and underneath this button is the arrangement view.

Also in the manual that came with Live as PDF are the basics and principles of Live. Read them first before you do anything LOL. No seriously; if you read these first, things will fall in place. While Garageband lends itself to work with it without reading in advance, Live is completly differend.

You have to understand the basics of the sessionview and the arrangementview. Learning can be steep, but it can be done though; I worked with all flavors of Cubase for 20 years before going to Live, and it took a few weeks to get it done easily......
Greetings from Miyaru.
Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 3rd gen, ESI M4U eX, Reason 12, Live Suit 10, Push2, Presonus Eris E8 and Monitor Station V2, Lexicon MPX1,