Old software/ Computer Specs

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
cmreal04
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 2:27 am

Old software/ Computer Specs

Post by cmreal04 » Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:06 pm

Hey guys, kind of an odd question:

I need to buy an old Mac, to run One piece of outdated music software.

I'm obviously not trying to spend a ton of money on a secondary computer for one program, so my question is: is the minimum specs stated to run the software really the minimum specs? Or do you typically need to go beyond the minimum specs in most cases? Any feedback is greatly appreciated.
Ableton 9, Feeltune Rhizome, Focusrite Pro, Mpk249....

jestermgee
Posts: 3550
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: Old software/ Computer Specs

Post by jestermgee » Wed Sep 06, 2017 11:58 pm

Depends on the software and the use of it.

Minimum specs will cover being able to open the software and use it to a very basic degree. With games this will mean you can get the game to load and if you have every setting on Low you will get some kind of FPS out of it.

With something like Music software I would look at it with the mind that if the minimum specs describe your machine, you could not expect too much at all from the software.

May help others to know what software you are talking about.

jlgrimes
Posts: 1299
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 1:55 am
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Re: Old software/ Computer Specs

Post by jlgrimes » Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:01 am

cmreal04 wrote:Hey guys, kind of an odd question:

I need to buy an old Mac, to run One piece of outdated music software.

I'm obviously not trying to spend a ton of money on a secondary computer for one program, so my question is: is the minimum specs stated to run the software really the minimum specs? Or do you typically need to go beyond the minimum specs in most cases? Any feedback is greatly appreciated.


Usually you want recommended specs but it depends on the software and nature/importance of the software.

Pitch Black
Posts: 6444
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Old software/ Computer Specs

Post by Pitch Black » Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:05 am

@cm, what's the old software? Possibly one of us has real-world experience of running it on an old Mac?
MBP i5 2.53GHz | OSX 10.12.6 | Live10.0.4 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

cmreal04
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 2:27 am

Re: Old software/ Computer Specs

Post by cmreal04 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:09 am

Alright well that pretty much answers that, I'll go a little too heavy on the ram then. I need it to run my feeltune rhizome le software. I upgraded my main machine,which led to my current problem...
Ableton 9, Feeltune Rhizome, Focusrite Pro, Mpk249....

jestermgee
Posts: 3550
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: Old software/ Computer Specs

Post by jestermgee » Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:14 am

cmreal04 wrote:Alright well that pretty much answers that, I'll go a little too heavy on the ram then. I need it to run my feeltune rhizome le software. I upgraded my main machine,which led to my current problem...
I'm assuming Mac there...

This is one thing that turned me off the whole apple ecosystem. Things become incompatible far too fast in that world. Hell, I still have the very first song I created back in 1996 in Fasttracker and I still have a way to load Fasttracker on Windows 10 machine. I can still install Buzz tracker, scream tracker, Cubase SX3.... everything I have used in 2 decades. If required, install a VM and install XP so I can get Dos back if I really wanted.

cmreal04
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 2:27 am

Re: Old software/ Computer Specs

Post by cmreal04 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:34 am

Yeah it's pretty frustrating.

I have the rhizome installer saved on a Zip drive (Mac) but the installer isn't even available online otherwise.
Ableton 9, Feeltune Rhizome, Focusrite Pro, Mpk249....

Pitch Black
Posts: 6444
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Old software/ Computer Specs

Post by Pitch Black » Thu Sep 07, 2017 2:58 am

I keep my 2002 tibook around for opening legacy projects in OS9. I think it's just the same as keeping a vintage guitar around for a unique sound.
MBP i5 2.53GHz | OSX 10.12.6 | Live10.0.4 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Old software/ Computer Specs

Post by Stromkraft » Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:31 pm

cmreal04 wrote:
I need to buy an old Mac, to run One piece of outdated music software.
Which is Feeltune Rhizome? What is the latest it runs on?

As it would seem this OS X Intel, then could a virtualized system work?
Make some music!

cmreal04
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 2:27 am

Re: Old software/ Computer Specs

Post by cmreal04 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:02 pm

Here's the specs:

Intel Core Duo processor
OS X 10.6 or 10.7 (latest update)
2 GB RAM


I won't pretend I know how to virtualized system works.


Any ideas based on that, what my best option is? To support those specs.
Ableton 9, Feeltune Rhizome, Focusrite Pro, Mpk249....

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Old software/ Computer Specs

Post by Stromkraft » Fri Sep 08, 2017 4:39 pm

cmreal04 wrote:Here's the specs:

Intel Core Duo processor
OS X 10.6 or 10.7 (latest update)
2 GB RAM


I won't pretend I know how to virtualized system works.


Any ideas based on that, what my best option is? To support those specs.
Well, Wmware Fusion (Commercial) or Oracle VM VirtualBox (Open Source and free) or Parallels (Commercial) all probably require too much CPU for this to be practical in a VM.

The best option I can see is to get a newer main quadcore machine on the second hand market and use the one you have now for running the old system you ask about.
Last edited by Stromkraft on Fri Sep 08, 2017 11:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Make some music!

cmreal04
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 2:27 am

Re: Old software/ Computer Specs

Post by cmreal04 » Fri Sep 08, 2017 9:57 pm

Yeah, unfortunately that's what I was thinking.
Ableton 9, Feeltune Rhizome, Focusrite Pro, Mpk249....

cmreal04
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 2:27 am

Re: Old software/ Computer Specs

Post by cmreal04 » Thu Dec 21, 2017 1:33 am

Hey guys, I just bought an older Mac Pro and I'm starting to work through a couple snags:

I've added a couple of my sample libraries (wav), but they appear as iTune wav files on my drive.

Do you know what I need to do, in order to have these show up as just wav files?
Ableton 9, Feeltune Rhizome, Focusrite Pro, Mpk249....

Post Reply