Using the Boss RC-505 with Ableton Live

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
joryb
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:00 pm

Using the Boss RC-505 with Ableton Live

Post by joryb » Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:21 pm

Hello Friends!

Resources on using the RC-505 with Ableton Live are scarce O_o

I'm currently running the RC-505 into my computer using a USB cable. I can then record into ableton by creating a connected audio track, but I have to monitor through the RC-505 directly. This works fine, but I was hoping to monitor through my computer.

When running the sound out from the computer (input RC-505, output Built in Mics in preferences) and turning the monitor on for the track...I receive feedback through my headphones. Any thoughts?

Running the RC-505 into something like a Scarlett might solve this?

Jory

badly born droid
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 4:54 pm
Location: london
Contact:

Re: Using the Boss RC-505 with Ableton Live

Post by badly born droid » Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:43 am

Mines connected via usb, Ive got my audio output set to rc-505 (not built in) and it sounds great

you can then connect the headophopnes or monitors to the output of the rc505.

Now - I want to set up slave/master midi control. preferably the rc505 mastering ableton.
Can you find any docs?

ChironControl
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Using the Boss RC-505 with Ableton Live

Post by ChironControl » Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:44 pm

joryb wrote:Hello Friends!

Resources on using the RC-505 with Ableton Live are scarce O_o

I'm currently running the RC-505 into my computer using a USB cable. I can then record into ableton by creating a connected audio track, but I have to monitor through the RC-505 directly. This works fine, but I was hoping to monitor through my computer.

When running the sound out from the computer (input RC-505, output Built in Mics in preferences) and turning the monitor on for the track...I receive feedback through my headphones. Any thoughts?

Running the RC-505 into something like a Scarlett might solve this?

Jory
There is a setting in the RC-505 to turn input on and off. That could help.

Here is a description:
https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/ar ... ut-switch/

Jelma
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:42 pm

Re: Using the Boss RC-505 with Ableton Live

Post by Jelma » Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:44 pm

Hey guys! Would you have some time and patience to explain to a newbie how do you connect Boss rc-505 as an audio interface in Ableton Live please? I've browsed and browsed Google in search for answer, unsuccessfully though.
Thanks in advance!

Post Reply