Newb Advice needed - Audio interfaces

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Kernal

Newb Advice needed - Audio interfaces

Post by Kernal » Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:56 pm

HI, I'm a bit of a novice at all this so apologies if this is a stupid question.

I would like to get a copy of Ableton Live Lite or Intro with a view to later upgrading if there is a need. I just want to experiment to start with.

I use a windows 8 PC which has a built in sound card. From what I have read, I will likely need a better soundcard, especially if I want to que tracks in a DJ setting. Is this a correct assumption or will I be able to manage with a built in soundcard? I'm thinking external soundcards are also known as an audio interface?

Assuming I do need a new soundcard/audio inteface, I've seen some that come bundled with Ableton Lite like the M-Audio M-Track 2x2. Are there any recommendations for this device? or maybe others of a similar price that are bundled with Lite?

I've also been looking at the APC40 as no doubt I'll need some kind of controller. These too come bundled with Lite. Does the APC40 have a built in audio interface that may negate the need to buy a M-Audio M-Track 2x2?

Any help appreciated!
Thanks 8)

Tarekith

Re: Newb Advice needed - Audio interfaces

Post by Tarekith » Fri Oct 06, 2017 5:05 pm

The APC40 and Push both do not come with a built in audio interface, you'd still need a seperate one.

Stromkraft

Post by Stromkraft » Fri Oct 06, 2017 5:21 pm

Kernal wrote:M-Audio M-Track 2x2.
You'd be better served getting a second hand license for Live Lite, or Live Intro and a proper audio interface with proper and updated drivers. I'd suggest looking at Focusrite second hand, RME, like a 1st gen Babyface (what I got) if you can afford a little more, or some other that has a history of updating drivers and with 4 outs, with your connection of choice.
Make some music!

Kernal

Post by Kernal » Fri Oct 06, 2017 5:50 pm

Thank you for the responses.