10 is announced!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Tarekith
Posts: 17310
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: 10 is announced!

Post by Tarekith » Fri Nov 03, 2017 2:36 am

Live sets load MUCH faster all across the board, with or mithout M4L devices. You should no longer be seeing those long load times, if you are while using the beta, please file a bug report.

Angstrom
Posts: 14661
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: 10 is announced!

Post by Angstrom » Fri Nov 03, 2017 2:40 am

Tarekith wrote:Live sets load MUCH faster all across the board, with or mithout M4L devices. You should no longer be seeing those long load times, if you are while using the beta, please file a bug report.
I do not have the beta so cannot comment on whether it is fixed now, but it still exists in the latest live 9

Not many people ever reported the 60 second load time issue with Live 9, so I very much doubt it got fixed.

If Live 9 with Max device loaded in 10 seconds for most people , and Live 10 now loads in 4, that's good.
If Live 9 with Max device loaded in 65 seconds for me , and Live 10 now loads in 59, that's not so good.

Machinesworking
Posts: 11093
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: 10 is announced!

Post by Machinesworking » Fri Nov 03, 2017 2:49 am

graphixsounds wrote:how on earth did they drop the ball that hard and not add MPE support?

otherwise the update looks great
I'm guessing it's something they will add in an update sometime before Live 11 drops.
It's too requested to pass on, but it might be too much work to debug along with all the other changes.

Angstrom
Posts: 14661
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: 10 is announced!

Post by Angstrom » Fri Nov 03, 2017 2:59 am

I would bet on MPE for a later point version. I suspect the visualisation will be tough despite the new automation arrangment screen - because Session clips need to show MPE too. And clips have quite an old automation display, still. I think.

It's worth looking at this release schedule for L9 point versions before starting to hold your breath for this feature.
Live 9 - 5 March 2013
Live 9.2 - 29 June 2015
Live 9.6 - 3 February 2016

If L10 releases in March 2018, that would imply a mid-2020 release for MPE support. Or later!
Which might be a little painful.

IronShirt
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 10:48 pm

Re: 10 is announced!

Post by IronShirt » Fri Nov 03, 2017 3:28 am

What I think Live 10 additionally needs:

Zoom in/out note velocity lane.
Color coded sounds/instruments to be reflected in velocity bars.
The ability to show/hide note velocity bars per sound/instrument.
Currently editing, even visually finding velocity bars one wants to edit, is tedious and this should have been improved years ago.

Would like to see a mini midi note editor similar to Reason's Tool Window.

16 Macro knobs.

Something like Akai's VIP integrated between Push 2 and Ableton Live. Essentially a way to scroll through 3rd party plugin presets just with Push.

ezelkow1
Posts: 366
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:22 pm

Re: 10 is announced!

Post by ezelkow1 » Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:00 am

Angstrom wrote:
Tarekith wrote:Live sets load MUCH faster all across the board, with or mithout M4L devices. You should no longer be seeing those long load times, if you are while using the beta, please file a bug report.
I do not have the beta so cannot comment on whether it is fixed now, but it still exists in the latest live 9

Not many people ever reported the 60 second load time issue with Live 9, so I very much doubt it got fixed.

If Live 9 with Max device loaded in 10 seconds for most people , and Live 10 now loads in 4, that's good.
If Live 9 with Max device loaded in 65 seconds for me , and Live 10 now loads in 59, that's not so good.
why dont you try it?

I just tested here, 10 loads in 4-5 for me, for a set with 5 max devices it takes 5-6. During startup you just see 'starting max for live' flash by for a second just like all the other startup items

re:dream
Posts: 4554
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: 10 is announced!

Post by re:dream » Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:36 am

I love it when a developer keeps their eyes on the ball.

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: 10 is announced!

Post by Stromkraft » Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:42 am

graphixsounds wrote:how on earth did they drop the ball that hard and not add MPE support?
How can you ask for MPE and ignore polyphonic aftertouch, that's been part of the MIDI spec for 30 years or so? After all, MPE is not even two years and hardware support is limited. There's plenty of PA-supporting hardware out there, also old. Even Push support polyphonic aftertouch AFAIK.
Make some music!

stringtapper
Posts: 6271
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm

Re: 10 is announced!

Post by stringtapper » Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:58 am

Stromkraft wrote:Even Push support polyphonic aftertouch AFAIK.
That’s… odd.

:?
Unsound Designer

chapelier fou
Posts: 4915
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: 10 is announced!

Post by chapelier fou » Fri Nov 03, 2017 8:01 am

Angstrom wrote:For me this close integration with Max might be really problematic.

If I start Live9 with a default set without a Max device in, it takes 4 seconds to load
If I start Live9 with a default set with a single Max device in, it takes over 60 seconds to load.

Any live set containing a Max device, not the editor, just a device - triggers a massive slowdown then a lockup. That's either on start (if its in the set I click), or when I load a device such as an LFO into an empty set. The app seizes for a long time.

Now in Live 10 it seems the second case is my only option. Will it always take me +60 seconds to start Live now?
That's not gonna be very good.

for those who might say "you should report that", it was filed as BUG-1919 , and BUG-1922 "crash on start", and some changes to Live 9.2 turned that into "slowest start on earth if Max is involved". Unfortunately a change to centrecode deleted all of the conversations and the bug just got closed automatically - and it moved to email.

you better believe I will be re-submitting this every nanosecond if it's in Live 10
Max 8 is announced as well, and Ableton Live 10 embeds a preliminary version of it. So there is a good hope that a deep rewrite has been done to address these issues.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

cskracer
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 7:53 am
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: 10 is announced!

Post by cskracer » Fri Nov 03, 2017 8:01 am

No mention of any improvements in controlling the mapping of 3rd party VSTs with Push a la PrEditor or automatic preset mappings instead of having the drudgery of creating presets manually for your VSTs?

[art]
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:29 am
Contact:

Re: 10 is announced!

Post by [art] » Fri Nov 03, 2017 8:17 am

I really love the way theyre using the expanded device view to show all these cool visualisations

emma
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 8:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: 10 is announced!

Post by emma » Fri Nov 03, 2017 8:37 am

I want the Beta !!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Martin Gifford
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:48 am

Re: 10 is announced!

Post by Martin Gifford » Fri Nov 03, 2017 9:07 am

Do dark skins work better? For example, can you see drum names in the midi editor?

Angstrom
Posts: 14661
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: 10 is announced!

Post by Angstrom » Fri Nov 03, 2017 9:35 am

ezelkow1 wrote:
Angstrom wrote: I do not have the beta so cannot comment on whether it is fixed now, but it still exists in the latest live 9

Not many people ever reported the 60 second load time issue with Live 9, so I very much doubt it got fixed.

If Live 9 with Max device loaded in 10 seconds for most people , and Live 10 now loads in 4, that's good.
If Live 9 with Max device loaded in 65 seconds for me , and Live 10 now loads in 59, that's not so good.
why dont you try it?

I just tested here, 10 loads in 4-5 for me, for a set with 5 max devices it takes 5-6. During startup you just see 'starting max for live' flash by for a second just like all the other startup items
Erm, If I had the Beta I would try it. Obviously.
And unless you saw the issue in L9 you would not see it in L10

I hope the rewrite fixes it, but it would have to be a side effect of the incorporated M8 (as this bug has existed for 4 years. My assumption has always been a clash on the l9/m7 licensing. So there is a possibility. I'll see.

Post Reply