Live 10 System Requirements ... can't find anywhere.

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
craftycurate
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 2:23 pm

Live 10 System Requirements ... can't find anywhere.

Post by craftycurate » Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:08 pm

Unless I'm missing this, I can't find the System Requirements for Live 10 listed anywhere, esp if it will be Win 7x64 Compatible. It isn't mentioned on https://www.ableton.com/en/live/ for example ...

Are these listed anywhere?
Core i7 2.3GHz|Win7x64|8GB|1.5TB & Core 2 Duo T7200, XP Pro SP3,
Nio 2|4, Edirol PCR800, NanoKontrol , Komplete Synths + Reaktor 5, Cameleon, Alchemy, FabFilter 2 suite
http://www.myspace.com/richardlyallmusic http://craftycurate.blogs.com

Tarekith
Posts: 17370
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Live 10 System Requirements ... can't find anywhere.

Post by Tarekith » Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:28 pm

Coming shortly.

chauvin
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 5:08 pm

Re: Live 10 System Requirements ... can't find anywhere.

Post by chauvin » Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:35 pm

craftycurate wrote:Unless I'm missing this, I can't find the System Requirements for Live 10 listed anywhere, esp if it will be Win 7x64 Compatible. It isn't mentioned on https://www.ableton.com/en/live/ for example ...

Are these listed anywhere?
Correct ?
Minimum system requirements

Mac: OS X 10.11.6, Intel Core 2 Duo processor
PC: 64-bit Windows 7, 64-bit Intel or AMD multi-core processor
Intel Core i5 processor or faster recommended
4 GB RAM (8GB or more recommended)
Approx. 3GB disk space for the basic installation (8GB recommended)
5GB to 76GB disk space for additional sound content depending on version installed

http://www.musictech.net/2017/11/ableto ... a-preview/
© theMTC

Tarekith
Posts: 17370
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Live 10 System Requirements ... can't find anywhere.

Post by Tarekith » Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:52 pm

Correct.

craftycurate
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 2:23 pm

Re: Live 10 System Requirements ... can't find anywhere.

Post by craftycurate » Thu Nov 02, 2017 3:09 pm

That's great thanks.
Core i7 2.3GHz|Win7x64|8GB|1.5TB & Core 2 Duo T7200, XP Pro SP3,
Nio 2|4, Edirol PCR800, NanoKontrol , Komplete Synths + Reaktor 5, Cameleon, Alchemy, FabFilter 2 suite
http://www.myspace.com/richardlyallmusic http://craftycurate.blogs.com

Hardtoe
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:50 am

Re: Live 10 System Requirements ... can't find anywhere.

Post by Hardtoe » Fri Nov 03, 2017 2:22 am

That's actually lame for me - on mavericks here and quite happy OSX 10.9.5

This is a very expensive and weak update from my perspective as a professional recordist and mixer - all I really want is the group feature and for the indexing to not suck the life out of every move I make, plus multiple audio track editing (not multiple midi track editing)

Plus you dont need new fx and synths as a power user - you have killer 3rd party plugs

bleh....Am I been supporting every update since Live 3

I just want some better functionality at a decent price...
Can you hear it?

Bionecteur
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 11:16 am
Location: Berlin/Aachen

Re: Live 10 System Requirements ... can't find anywhere.

Post by Bionecteur » Fri Nov 03, 2017 3:28 pm

[quote="Hardtoe"]That's actually lame for me - on mavericks here and quite happy OSX 10.9.5

yep, I feel the same...quite lame .. supporter since Live 2 ...
ritsch, ratsch, klick

Tarekith
Posts: 17370
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Live 10 System Requirements ... can't find anywhere.

Post by Tarekith » Fri Nov 03, 2017 3:37 pm

The system requirements for Live 10 on OSX are no different from Apple, they no longer support OS's earlier than 10.11.6 either. You can't expect Ableton to support it if Apple themselves won't support the OS anymore.

joesoul
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:59 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: Live 10 System Requirements ... can't find anywhere.

Post by joesoul » Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:47 pm

I wonder if support for the Ableton Push 1 will be lost in this update, or if new features will be added to it. I'd hate to have to get rid of a device that I've grown to appreciate, but I'm sure that Ableton won't pull a move like that.
My Gear -> http://equipboard.com/soulrebel360

"I move left cuz m'fkz ain't right"

Tarekith
Posts: 17370
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Live 10 System Requirements ... can't find anywhere.

Post by Tarekith » Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:50 pm

Push 1 is definitely still supported and will be for a long time. Wouldn't do any good to donate all those Push 1 to school and music classes if people cound't use them a year or two later. :)

Millennialaire
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 5:19 pm

Re: Live 10 System Requirements ... can't find anywhere.

Post by Millennialaire » Mon Nov 06, 2017 5:32 pm

I agree with hardtoe. The group feature, indexing as well capture for power users is the only extra things we will get for upgrading. I just got the beta 10 and will be testing it out but from what i see those features i listed above are all i can look forward 2. I don't have a push 2. I have a push1 so those neat features on push 2 will not come in handy for me. They could easily make the indexing & grouping feature that all the other DAWs have had for a while they could make it for live 9. I love you ableton but other DAWs are 1 time pay and forever updatable as well. Fruity loops special synths are a huge draw right out the box. I paid 800 for this live 9 then another 400 for push 1 for an ableton user i don't think its 2 much 2 ask for the indexing feature and grouping feature to come 2 live 9. I know you need your money 2 keep making your DAW better and keep investing in your future but COME ON MAN, whats up with that. 8O And i will have to upgrade to Sierra (which would be free) to use it on my mac. I use Yosemite because elcapitan is not available for download anymore. & i don't want to lose function of all my 3d party synths. All that being said, Ableton is a beast & i wouldn't change DAWs for ISH.

swishniak
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 11:25 am
Location: Berlin

Re: Live 10 System Requirements ... can't find anywhere.

Post by swishniak » Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:45 pm

i got to say im a bit dissapointed; i see tarekiths point, but i personally know alot of working/touring producers that are still on 10.9.5. and im sure ableton is aware of that.

PHY6
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:42 pm

Re: Live 10 System Requirements ... can't find anywhere.

Post by PHY6 » Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:56 pm

Same here, still on 10.10, and not planning to leave my rock solid live 9 for that !

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Live 10 System Requirements ... can't find anywhere.

Post by Stromkraft » Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:21 pm

swishniak wrote:i got to say im a bit dissapointed; i see tarekiths point, but i personally know alot of working/touring producers that are still on 10.9.5. and im sure ableton is aware of that.
Apple isn't supporting developers with OS X 10.9. With the choice of staying on an older OS — and there's nothing wrong with that — comes the side-effects, like you can't get the latest stuff. So what? Stay on 10.9 and the old software,and make music.

Personally, I believe there are good and valid reasons for stopping support for several years old OS versions at some point. It's not in line with how it used to be. Just a few years Ableton supported OS X 10.4, I think. But Ableton don't have total freedom when developing a new system. To support many major OS versions is very costly. I don't think many are prepared to pay even a bit of that cost.
Make some music!

grimleyj
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 7:52 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Live 10 System Requirements ... can't find anywhere.

Post by grimleyj » Sun Jan 21, 2018 8:08 pm

Well sh*t!. I purchased the Live 10 upgrade when it was announced and just tried to install the beta on OS X 10.10.5. My own fault for not checking the requirements first but there is no way I'm upgrading my rock solid OS just to use Live 10 after reading horror stories about Firewire interfaces etc.

Post Reply