L10 multi MIDI: Can you transpose notes from multiple clips?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1202
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

L10 multi MIDI: Can you transpose notes from multiple clips?

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:11 am

All the Live 10 videos I've seen only show jumping between clips. I'm interested in editing multiple clips simultaneously.

Let's say I have a bass track and a chord track, and I want to transpose one bar of the progression. Can I select notes from both clips and transpose them in one action?

If not, I hope Max patches load a lot faster, so I can comfortably use Isotonik's editor.
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

S4racen
Posts: 5236
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: L10 multi MIDI: Can you transpose notes from multiple clips?

Post by S4racen » Sun Nov 05, 2017 9:53 pm

Max patches load a lot lot faster :-)

Cheers
D

the bite
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 8:56 pm
Location: Sevilla
Contact:

Re: L10 multi MIDI: Can you transpose notes from multiple clips?

Post by the bite » Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:09 am

I was testing that in the beta,and it,s not possible at the moment.

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1202
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: L10 multi MIDI: Can you transpose notes from multiple clips?

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Mon Nov 06, 2017 6:48 am

Ah, that's the one thing I really needed multi MIDI for.

Since Max patches apparently load fast enough now, it sounds like Isotonik's editor is the way to go for me: https://isotonikstudios.com/product/mid ... ip-editor/
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1202
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: L10 multi MIDI: Can you transpose notes from multiple clips?

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Mon Nov 06, 2017 4:51 pm

Just got the beta too. Max devices load very fast, so Isotonik's editor is recommended.

Suggestion for the native multi clip editing: I wish we could hold ctrl or alt to make selections apply to both foreground and background clips. That would make it would be perfect for my needs.

Relevant Live 10 Centercode entries:

https://ableton.centercode.com/project/ ... 01533e6f9a
https://ableton.centercode.com/project/ ... 6d65dd6913
https://ableton.centercode.com/project/ ... 62ee5899f0
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1202
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: L10 multi MIDI: Can you transpose notes from multiple clips?

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Sun Mar 17, 2019 7:29 am

I'm still sad that we can't transpose multiple MIDI clips with one action, like we can do with audio clips.
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

Post Reply