Is it possible to record output of Roli Equator as audio ?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
sanbarrow

Is it possible to record output of Roli Equator as audio ?

Post by sanbarrow » Sun Nov 12, 2017 8:33 pm

Hello
I am a beginner with Ableton Live and have problems with using a Roli Block via the Equator plugin.
Is it possible to record the audio output of Equator directly into Ableton ?
I already tried to record midi but so far I failed miserably.
At the moment I have to use very ugly workarounds using a second USB-interface.
This is the hardware that I have: older Macbook with 8GB RAM, recent Windows 7 laptop with 16 GB RAM, Zoom R16 Interface, Behringer XR18.
Thank you

Mannnolo

Re: Is it possible to record output of Roli Equator as audio ?

Post by Mannnolo » Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:46 am

Yes, it is, but with some work. I've done it a few times with the Seaboard Rise. Just follow the steps at https://support.roli.com/article/using- ... eton-live/

You may want to download the template. It works great, even thought Ableton is not MPE compatible. You can still record all MIDI in separate tracks on the template and route the output to an audio track, which you can then record.

If you only want the audio (and not the MIDI), there may be an easier way to do it, but I am not familiar with your interface and don't know how (and if) you can do the routing.

Cheers

sanbarrow

Post by sanbarrow » Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:00 pm

Thanks for answering
I had tried the template from the Roli website with poor results.
Without modifications it "somehow" worked but did not capture all notes so it was basically unusable.
I read that it should work when you create all 16 midi channels but when I tried to do that something went wrong and I did not get any audio at all.
Looks like I have to do a lot of homework until I manage this approach.
Thank you
I will keep you updated on my efforts

rootsinthesky

Post by rootsinthesky » Sat Jun 23, 2018 2:20 am