Live 10

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
A99 Productions
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:59 pm

Live 10

Post by A99 Productions » Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:04 pm

Hello.
can somebody answer me this quastion: Will i be able to open a live 9 project file in live 10 ??

stringtapper
Posts: 6266
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm

Re: Live 10

Post by stringtapper » Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:09 pm

Yes.
Unsound Designer

antic604
Posts: 568
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:14 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Live 10

Post by antic604 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:09 am

Yes, it will look different (track colours have changed and also new global automation visibility mode might affect what you see), but it should play exactly the same.

A99 Productions
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:59 pm

Re: Live 10

Post by A99 Productions » Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:09 pm

OKay Thanks

A99 Productions
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:59 pm

Re: Live 10

Post by A99 Productions » Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:53 pm

Okay thanks. can i have a answers from other people just to be sure

Tarekith
Posts: 17255
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Live 10

Post by Tarekith » Thu Nov 16, 2017 7:11 pm

maybe... yes

Angstrom
Posts: 14643
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Live 10

Post by Angstrom » Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:18 pm

certainly

stringtapper
Posts: 6266
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm

Re: Live 10

Post by stringtapper » Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:39 pm

OP, please keep us updated as to when you've received enough answers to convince you.
Unsound Designer

yur2die4
Posts: 6368
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Live 10

Post by yur2die4 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:53 pm

In all cases you can open older projects on newer versions of Live. But being able to open projects from newer versions of Live on older versions is not usually possible.

Are there any particular reasons why you are asking whether or not the projects will open in 10?

A99 Productions
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:59 pm

Re: Live 10

Post by A99 Productions » Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:08 pm

Do not want to lose my live 9 project files if live 9 expires at some point

Angstrom
Posts: 14643
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Live 10

Post by Angstrom » Thu Nov 16, 2017 10:14 pm

You can open Live 1 projects in Live 10 if you want to.
Also Live 10 will open Live 2, Live 3, Live 4, Live 5, Live 6, Live 7, Live 8, Live 9 and Live 10 files.

Live 10 will not open Live 11 files.

This will not change.

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Live 10

Post by Stromkraft » Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:06 pm

A99 Productions wrote:Do not want to lose my live 9 project files if live 9 expires at some point
Yes, this is of course a real issue. Unfortunately, I believe that even if you can open Live 9 projects there is no guarantee that precisely everything will sound exactly the same. Likely your song will sound very similar, but some things could break, also with native devices, but more so with plug-ins.

This is one reason to why I besides backing up projects to external disks automatically also save all plug-in presets, native instrument presets, rack presets and so on into the project folder and my user Library. When archiving the project, after release or what not, it can also be a good idea to export the audio from all tracks.

Saved presets can't protect me from a plug-in that stop working completely or that misbehaves at some point in the future when the OS is updated, Live is updated or something that causes issues and the plug-in maker is nowhere to be found, or will not for any other reason further develop the plug-in so the issue is fixed. In this case exported audio files are probably readable for quite some time.

Until the archive disk breaks… Where did I send the copies?
Make some music!

tribalogical
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: boise, idaho

Re: Live 10

Post by tribalogical » Fri Nov 17, 2017 7:10 am

A99 Productions wrote:Hello.
can somebody answer me this quastion: Will i be able to open a live 9 project file in live 10 ??
In all versions of Live so far, you can always open older project files. Typically though, you will need to re-save your project using the newer version (in essence upgrading your project as well) for it to be fully compatible.

I haven't had any major issues with this process. I always make sure not to overwrite the original project. I usually re-save using the same name, but adding the Live version number to it, like "projectname_L10" for projects upgraded to v10. That way I can always revert if I have to. Also, keep your previous copy of Live installed. That way, you can always open the original set in its "native" version of Live if you have to. Different versions of Live will coexist on your system just fine... hope this helps.

peace.
iMac 5K 27", 4.2Ghz i7, 16GB RAM, 3TB Fusion HD: Focusrite 6i6 v2: NI S88 keyboard
MacBookPro 13", 2.4Ghz i5, 8GB RAM, 500GB SSD
MacOS 10.12.6 (Sierra)
Apps:: Live Suite 9.7.4, Logic Pro X
Plugins:: hordes...

Pitch Black
Posts: 6440
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Live 10

Post by Pitch Black » Fri Nov 17, 2017 7:28 am

Stromkraft, wow that’s a lot of trouble to go to! If I want to keep a future-proofed archive, I just print 24bit audio stems. How often do you need “really old” projects to be fully “alive”? That is, getting into fx settings etc?

That said, I’m glad to have my OS9 tibook in the wardrobe... just in case... :roll:
MBP i5 2.53GHz | OSX 10.12.6 | Live10.0.4 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

A99 Productions
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:59 pm

Re: Live 10

Post by A99 Productions » Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:38 am

Okay. Thanks guys. Got my answers :D

Post Reply