disabling clips recording to session view on launch

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
shakitavi
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:17 pm

disabling clips recording to session view on launch

Post by shakitavi » Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:33 pm

Hello! I have been recently using Ableton at my work for broadcasting "television" type content to facebook live, it works great as a sampler and combined with Push is a wonderful way to trigger live sound fx / foley along with scene changes in background music etc. Recently my producers have asked me to start recording all of the audio from our shows to disk for archiving purposes, and using our Allen & Heath QU-16 I have found a way to do all of this inside the box! The only frustrating thing is that whenever I hit a clip to trigger a sound effect, or a musical change it ends up recording into my session view, despite the track not being armed. Is there any way that I can disable this feature so that I am not taking up unnecessary disk space and having to clean up my session before I make my final bounce at the end of the day? I've included a couple screen shots that will hopefully clairify what I'm talking about. Any advice would be appreciated!
Thanks!

Image

Image

S4racen
Posts: 5476
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: disabling clips recording to session view on launch

Post by S4racen » Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:46 pm

Right click, remove stop button... Oh and resize your pictures that was a massive pain to work out what ewas going on...

Cheers
D

shakitavi
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:17 pm

Re: disabling clips recording to session view on launch

Post by shakitavi » Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:49 pm

S4racen wrote:Right click, remove stop button... Oh and resize your pictures that was a massive pain to work out what ewas going on...

Cheers
D

gotcha thank you! and sorry for the size, not super savvy with the forum stuff yet!

shakitavi
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:17 pm

Re: disabling clips recording to session view on launch

Post by shakitavi » Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:51 pm

also just out of curiosity, why does removing the stop button keep clips from recording into session view?

shakitavi
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:17 pm

Re: disabling clips recording to session view on launch

Post by shakitavi » Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:56 pm

also, removing the stop button hasn't fixed the issue of clips being tracked into my session view on their individual channels.

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: disabling clips recording to session view on launch

Post by Stromkraft » Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:15 pm

shakitavi wrote:also, removing the stop button hasn't fixed the issue of clips being tracked into my session view on their individual channels.
Please explain why tracks where you don't want to record anything must be armed? I mean if you don't want to record why not unarm them?

When I want to record the output I use Melda MRecorder.
Make some music!

shakitavi
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:17 pm

Re: disabling clips recording to session view on launch

Post by shakitavi » Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:56 pm

the tracks aren't armed, but they are showing up as recorded in my session view regardless, also I don't want to just get a mixdown of everything because I need to get stems of individual tracks. this session is a test one but I sometimes have up to 4 mics along with music, FX, room mics, etc. need the stems for post.

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: disabling clips recording to session view on launch

Post by Stromkraft » Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:32 am

shakitavi wrote:the tracks aren't armed, but they are showing up as recorded in my session view regardless, also I don't want to just get a mixdown of everything because I need to get stems of individual tracks. this session is a test one but I sometimes have up to 4 mics along with music, FX, room mics, etc. need the stems for post.
If "they are showing up as recorded" then your preferences allow for this. You have Start record on scene launch active? There's not record all tracks at any point as far as I know in Live. Something seems to be missing here.
You can use multiple instances of MRecorder if you pay for it, I think. I never tried it on multiple tracks but I don't see why not.

Your pics are too big to analyse — sorry — maybe you can also describe your flow a little better? I mean what is it that you need to play, where is this routed and what is that you need to record and where?

What the remove stop buttons do is not stopping your recording, which is the main problem recording everything. If you launch a scene with a stop button in a recording track that button is activated and stops the recording of that track.
Make some music!

shakitavi
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:17 pm

Re: disabling clips recording to session view on launch

Post by shakitavi » Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:23 am

Stromkraft wrote:
shakitavi wrote:the tracks aren't armed, but they are showing up as recorded in my session view regardless, also I don't want to just get a mixdown of everything because I need to get stems of individual tracks. this session is a test one but I sometimes have up to 4 mics along with music, FX, room mics, etc. need the stems for post.
If "they are showing up as recorded" then your preferences allow for this. You have Start record on scene launch active? There's not record all tracks at any point as far as I know in Live. Something seems to be missing here.
You can use multiple instances of MRecorder if you pay for it, I think. I never tried it on multiple tracks but I don't see why not.

Your pics are too big to analyse — sorry — maybe you can also describe your flow a little better? I mean what is it that you need to play, where is this routed and what is that you need to record and where?

What the remove stop buttons do is not stopping your recording, which is the main problem recording everything. If you launch a scene with a stop button in a recording track that button is activated and stops the recording of that track.
I have a track of BGM playing that is the general sound track for the show, I then have two other session view channels with one shot samples that are sound FX. I'm sending the audio out of my computer into a 16 CH mixer that is spitting a LR mix into a video switching / streaming software, then using the mixers multi-track over USB to send back into ableton to capture the BGM, microphones, and sound FX as stems so that our post department can mix them how they like for sizzle reel purposes. What I want when I trigger a sample for it to not be recorded into my session view, and when I fade in and out the BGM and bring in other tracks for that information to not be recorded either. right now I have start record on scene launch off, and am just hitting the record button to start the session. it's a weird combination of session and arrange view working together that is probably not the most intuitive or correct way to use ableton, but it has been working for me for the past 6 months or so. it's not make or break for me if I have to go back in and clean up the session before sending the stems out, but I figured I would ask if there was a way to make my work flow a little bit more streamlined.

shakitavi
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:17 pm

Re: disabling clips recording to session view on launch

Post by shakitavi » Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:25 am

I'm going to take a better photo tomorrows session, which will make more tracks on it and downsize it so that it's more legible so maybe people can see what I'm talking about, I feel like I'm not doing a very good job explaining what I'm doing / trying to do.

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: disabling clips recording to session view on launch

Post by Stromkraft » Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:55 am

shakitavi wrote:What I want when I trigger a sample for it to not be recorded into my session view, and when I fade in and out the BGM and bring in other tracks for that information to not be recorded either.
Well this part sounds like a routing problem, if you mean that it's getting mixed into the recording of tracks where these doesn't belong as you see it.

I'm trying to visualize the sound sources, the paths these take to get into Live and possibly out again and where you can tap those that you want to record. Hopefully you can make this visible for us.
Make some music!

clay
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 1:35 am

Re: disabling clips recording to session view on launch

Post by clay » Mon Oct 21, 2019 1:40 am

i too am trying to do something similar. I am recording from session view into arrange view by routing the audio from my session view tracks to new tracks in the arrange view. i dont want to record automation or the session view clip positions.

The reason for this is that i dont want to deal with automation and i have inserts on my tracks, doing filtering etc so i want that recorded as audio. I just want to deal with the audio after i have recorded.

At the moment my performance is being recorded fine into my new tracks....but additionally ableton is recording all my session view clips :(. I have turned off recording automation.

any workarounds for this?

clay
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 1:35 am

Re: disabling clips recording to session view on launch

Post by clay » Fri Oct 25, 2019 10:23 pm

Hi Peter

i guess its like the OP has said, there are various workflows people are trying to achieve in ableton, and a lot of this is personal preference, there isnt really a wrong and right. My preference is to not use the mouse so i want to record my performance into audio stems so i can mix the down later. This means its printed and i cant go back in and tweak things!

ShelLuser wrote:
Wed Oct 23, 2019 9:09 am
clay wrote:
Mon Oct 21, 2019 1:40 am
i too am trying to do something similar. I am recording from session view into arrange view by routing the audio from my session view tracks to new tracks in the arrange view. i dont want to record automation or the session view clip positions.
Sounds like you're over complicating stuff...

Why record (resample?) it in the first place? Why not, for example, copy or move the clips into the arrangement?

Or if this is about using audio on which you also applied sound effects then you could consider freezing the track and then copying or moving the samples onto other tracks for further use. It would definitely rule out any possible automation.

Post Reply