Page 1 of 1

Live 10 Auto Track Naming

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:42 pm
by Tarekith
https://youtu.be/qcYZ2ZpYJtY

Ableton just added this in the latest Live 10 beta, and this is such a huge time saver for me, I had to share

Now when you drag a clip onto a new track, the track will take the name of the clip automatically. This happens in reverse too, if you rename the clip then the track name will change. It works for clips you record on a track too, not just drag and drop. If you don’t want the track name to change, just give it a custom name and that will persist no matter what you call your clips.

This is standard in some other DAWs, but it saves a lot of time so I’m glad to finally see it in Live now.

Re: Live 10 Auto Track Naming

Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:01 am
by Bombastic
great yes I agree massive time saver for me

Re: Live 10 Auto Track Naming

Posted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 5:32 pm
by borg
would be nice if out of the blue a revamped Rack would pop up. It amazes me the concept of Rack hasn't been expanded on. I'm fed up resorting to obscure scripts, max workarounds, or whatever. That is time consuming.

Give us Racks with 16 controls (or user defined), selectors, sliders, buttons, switches, radio, multi seg envelopes, master knob... And make it global, not tied to the devices of the track it resides in. A bit like ClyphX, but better and as part of Live, not as an add-on. And of course S4racen has done extensive work in this field.

Re: Live 10 Auto Track Naming

Posted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 6:02 pm
by Stromkraft
borg wrote:
Give us Racks with 16 controls (or user defined), selectors, sliders, buttons, switches, radio, multi seg envelopes, master knob... And make it global, not tied to the devices of the track it resides in. A bit like ClyphX, but better and as part of Live, not as an add-on. And of course S4racen has done extensive work in this field.
Yes, please. Also make chains work like regular tracks with sends and not only as a sub-mixer. This should probably be posted at Feature Wishlist.