Automate "sends only"?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
SuburbanThug
Posts: 1478
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:22 am
Contact:

Automate "sends only"?

Post by SuburbanThug » Sat Jan 06, 2018 10:42 pm

I was wondering if anyone had a trick for automating a tracks routing to "sends only." I don't see any obvious way of doing it so far. Thanks!

fishmonkey
Posts: 4094
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: Automate "sends only"?

Post by fishmonkey » Sun Jan 07, 2018 5:32 am

what exactly are you waning to automate? are you referring to turning on and off the "sends only" setting itself?
badbrainz wrote: I'm a drummer, so I'm already at an intellectual disadvantage here

Pitch Black
Posts: 6444
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Automate "sends only"?

Post by Pitch Black » Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:25 am

AFAIK you can't automate the Track Output Selector ie "sends only".

I would make a duplicate of your track, assign one track's output to (Master/Whatever/etc...) and the other track's output to Sends Only, and automate switching/crossfading/fading between those two tracks instead.

Does that work for you?
MBP i5 2.53GHz | OSX 10.12.6 | Live10.0.4 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

SuburbanThug
Posts: 1478
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:22 am
Contact:

Re: Automate "sends only"?

Post by SuburbanThug » Sun Jan 07, 2018 11:04 pm

Yeah, that will work other than the fact that all my tracks are starting to hit CPU limit lately even with freezing and whatnot. Time to upgrade. Thank you for your responses.

Post Reply